Bananas Foster Monkey Bread

Hello my dear Sweet Precision friends! It feels as though it’s been a lifetime since I’ve written a blog post. You can rest assured that I’ve still been baking (this Key Lime Pie recipe has been a favorite of mine this summer). I’ve simply been remiss when it comes to taking pictures and writing up my recipes.

It’s hard to believe that summer is in full force and (dare I say) even beginning to wind down a little bit. I’ve begun to see some of the students return to campus which is a sure sign that autumn is just around the corner. Matthew and I have had a fun albeit busy summer. I’m looking forward to a couple upcoming weekends when I have nothing (insert gasp) on the calendar. It’ll be nice to relax and enjoy a little rejuvenation time.

I had a good friend from college come to visit Ann Arbor this past weekend. We had a lovely weekend filled with girl talk, pedicures, a barre class, and way more food than we needed to eat! I wanted to make some dessert for our dinner on Sunday and together we landed on this recipe. If you’re looking for a recipe with minimal preparation, this monkey bread fits the bill perfectly. The bananas have a strong smell when the loaf is in the oven but the flavor isn’t overpowering. I think this would be a perfect dish to bring to a breakfast or brunch!

Bananas Foster Monkey Bread
Recipe from All Recipes

Ingredients
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
2 (7.5 ounce) packages buttermilk biscuit dough, cut into quarters
2 ripe bananas, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions
Place a rack in the center of an oven and preheat to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Grease a loaf pan. Shake the sugar and cinnamon together in a large plastic bag; add the biscuit dough, bananas, and pecans to the bag and shake to coat evenly. Pour the mixture into the prepared loaf pan.

Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir the brown sugar into the melted butter until completely dissolved. Add the vanilla and stir well. Pour the mixture over the biscuit dough.

Bake in the preheated oven until golden brown, 30 to 40 minutes. Allow to cool about 10 minutes before serving.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
I found baking this loaf in a bundt pan was perfect for the recipe. It cooked evenly in about 35 minutes. Although I placed a cookie sheet underneath to catch any drips, the pan didn’t overflow while cooking.

9 thoughts on “Bananas Foster Monkey Bread

  1. Yum. This looks (and almost smells) delicious as I sit in MY livingroom. You have motivated me to enter the kitchen and make one of my own.

    Like

  2. Hello Heather, A very warm welcome back to the world of blogging. I haven’t posted for a long time either *note to self* write a post soon! It sounds like you had a lovely time with your friends. I am very fond, too fond, of banana bread but have never heard of this version. It sounds delicious. Enjoy the rest of the summer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the lovely note B! It seems as though blogging ebbs and flows, doesn’t it? I love that you can always pick back up and connect with the blogosphere! I hope that you’re having a lovely summer and getting a chance to do some fun travels. Look forward to hearing more in a future post :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

