Chocolate-Dipped Coconut Macaroons

IMG_4793

As much as I love spending time in the kitchen baking, there is one part of the process that I really detest. I hate going to the grocery store. I’ve hated grocery stores and grocery shopping all my life. My list of complaints could go on forever—from inadequate parking, to confusing store layouts and poor food selection—it seems as though the deck is always stacked against me when I walk through those sliding doors.

Given my grocery store-averse personality, I often plan my desserts around what ingredients I have at home. If a recipe requires only a few items that I don’t have, I’ll prioritize that recipe over one where I’d need to purchase more items. All this leads us to these delicious coconut macaroons. What inspired me to bake these cookies? I only needed two items from the grocery store—an obvious win in my book.

So let’s chat about these cookies a little bit. Coconut can be a pretty polarizing ingredient when it comes to desserts. If you aren’t a fan of coconut, steer clear of these little beauties. I brought these cookies into work this week for a baby shower. I usually do most of my baking on the weekend when I have more leisure time. When it comes to work-week baking projects, I’m always on the lookout for something that comes together rather quickly. These cookies take about 15 minutes of prep work and need about 15 minutes in the oven. It doesn’t get any easier!

Chocolate-Dipped Coconut Macaroons
Makes approximately 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
5 1/2 cups flaked sweetened coconut
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
1 1/4 teaspoons almond extract
2 cups melted semi sweet chocolate chips

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, stir together the flour, coconut and salt. Stir in the sweetened condensed milk and vanilla using your hands until well blended. Use an ice cream scoop to drop dough onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about golf ball size.

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, until coconut is toasted. Once cooled, dip cookies in melted chocolate and cool completely on waxed paper.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
I chilled my mixture for 15 minutes before baking. This helps things firm up a little bit and produces a rounder shaped macaroon that is perfect for dipping in chocolate!

11 thoughts on “Chocolate-Dipped Coconut Macaroons

  1. My grandmother LOVES coconut. I’m not a huge fan, but because these look so quick and easy to do I think I may surprise her with these little babies anyway, I’m sure she would love them. Thank you Heather, have a good weekend :-)

    Like

  2. These look delicious Heather, and I love how easy they are to make! I am with you on the grocery store! My husband doesn’t like coconut, so these would be safe in the house ;) Have a wonderful weekend my friend :-D

    Like

  3. I don’t like grocery shopping either at least if it means a trip to the supermarket although I do love speciality food shops. And I also confess to having a certain fascination with supermarkets in other countries as I love to look at the different things on offer. Chocolate and coconut sound like a great mix, and the pictures are making me wish I could taste them! I’d make some but I fear I might eat the whole batch. ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love shopping at grocery stores in other countries too! It’s an exception to my anti-supermarket rule. I consider it an adventure! Especially if you find a new item that you can try out. I found a bottle of rose water when I was on vacation in France a couple years ago and had a great time finding recipes where I could use it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

