Almond Snowflake Cake

FullSizeRender

Let it snow, let it snow, let it SNOW! This snowflake cake is a perfect representation of our Ann Arbor weather today. It’s like a winter wonderland outside with delicate snowflakes tumbling from the sky. I’ll be the first to admit that although I love a fresh snowfall, I really dislike driving in the snow. I often try to plan my weekly errands so that I don’t get stuck on snowy roads. The perfect place to be when the weather is bad is tucked inside watching the snow fall outside the window. Even better yet, I love to spend a snowy afternoon in the kitchen baking.

I am actually more excited about the bundt pan I used for this cake than the recipe itself. I acquired this bundt pan at the Nordic Ware outlet when Matthew and I were back in Minnesota around Christmas. Nordic Ware is a Minneapolis-based company that makes AH-mazing kitchenware products. I love their products and have several of their baking trays and pans in my kitchen. I felt like a kid in a candy store during our trip to the outlet. This beautiful snowflake pan was one of several purchases that we made for our kitchen.

I’ve always been a fan of fun-shaped bundt pans because it’s an easy way to make a basic recipe look really special. The recipe for this almond cake couldn’t be easier and all the ingredients are combined in a single bowl. The design of the pan is what really puts this cake over the top. Just adding a little powdered sugar on the top adds the final touch to the presentation. The same snowflake pan can be found on Amazon for $20.

FullSizeRender_1

Almond Snowflake Cake 
Original recipe from Nordic Ware 

Ingredients
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 large eggs
1 tsp. almond extract
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/3 cup ground almonds
3/4 cup milk
powdered sugar for dusting

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour pan and set aside. In a large bowl beat butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time; stir in almond and vanilla extracts.

In a small bowl, stir together, flour, baking powder, salt and ground almonds. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with milk, mixing just until incorporated. Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake 40 – 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan, then invert cake onto a wire rack. Cool completely. Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired. Enjoy!

Heather’s Helpful Hints 
Perhaps the most challenging part of baking any bundt cake is the delicate process of removing your cake from the pan. Nordic Ware pans often have intricate designs which make this process even more challenging. The following video offers some great tips for preparing your pans for easy cake removal.

IMG_1470

36 thoughts on “Almond Snowflake Cake

  1. The cake turned out great Heather! What a cool pan..I can see why you were so excited. I get the same way about buying things for the kitchen, it is so much fun! The powdered sugar looks like snow on the snowflake…love it!

    Like

  2. Oh my! This is just so beautiful Heather, and I adore almond cake. What an amazing bundt cake pan, I’ve never seen anything like it! I can almost taste this cake, thank you so much for the recipe! I see what you mean about your weather, I admit I would love to be hunkered down all cosy in side looking out at falling snow. We got done out of it this year…although with our fickle British weather, we never know. I’ve known it snow in April! Keep warm and cosy Heather and safe when you go out. I agree, snow is beautiful to look at but it can make every day life, especially out on those roads, dangerous. Have a wonderful weekend my friend! :-)

    Like

    • Thank you Sherri! I was intrigued when I saw the pan in the store and it was actually Matt that convinced me to buy it so he definitely deserves a little credit for his keen eye :) Yes, this winter weather is a bit of a bummer being that I thought Spring was right around the corner. I always feel like the final weeks of winter are the hardest. I was loving your post this week that showed the daffodils in bloom, so beautiful. Happy Friday to you and lovely weekend and well!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It was a nightmare for me getting to work this morning Heather; had to dig my car out after getting stuck leaving my complex, then fell my behind down in a snowbank while shoveling out the front wheels. Fun. (Don’t you love how’s it’s so pretty and nearly melted now? Pure Michigan.)

    On a positive note, this cake looks SUPERB. I love those intricate cake pans, but I too suffer from the fear that the cake will stick and ruin the “look”. Glad to see yours turned out perfectly :-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness, what a terrible morning Jess! Yeah, our apartment complex was a disaster in the morning. I ended up admitting defeat and just took the bus to work. And even the bus was late!! Just one of those days I suppose ;) I think I went a little overboard with spraying the pan for the cake but I was super nervous about it coming out. It’s the worst when you do all the hard work only to have it get messed up in the end.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a perfect pan for a beautiful snowflake cake. I absolutely love the look of the cake and think you are very brave to use such a pan. I’m so glad Matthew encouraged you to buy it. You will have lots of fun using it. I can think of many ways to make interesting snowflake cakes year round. How about a strawberry birthday flake cake?

    Like

  5. Oh my gosh, Heather! Perfection can really take different shapes. I love your almond cake! And it is way too beautiful to eat it. Great, great job my dear!
    I agree with you … mostly. Bad weather = inside not in the kitchen though! On the couch, under a blanket reading a good book or watching a beautiful movie. Bad mommy! ;-)

    Like

  6. That sounds like such a lovely afternoon – baking and watching the snow fall! This cake looks so beautiful, and the dusting of powdered sugar is so perfect for a snowflake-shaped cake. Yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

