Sweet Potato Cheesecake


Happy New Year to everyone! I always love January 1st because it’s a time when anything seems possible. Want to lose 15 pounds? No problem. Plan to run a marathon? Easily accomplished. Hope to take your dream vacation? Just book those tickets. All joking aside, no one can deny the sense of limitless possibilities that we feel come January of each year.

I go back and forth with setting resolutions. In 2014 my goal was to read the Bible and I was proud to accomplish that feat. Last year I took a break and didn’t have an official resolution. I’m taking a similar approach this year and don’t have any big resolution planned. One thing that I did take some time to do was think a little about what types of baking-related goals I’d like to tackle on Sweet Precision this year. My list below sums up some of my thoughts for the upcoming year.

2016 Baking Goals

But let’s take a moment to chat about the delicious sweet potato cheesecake that I made for this Sweet Precision post. Matthew and I spent the holidays in Minnesota this year and (as always) it felt like the time went by way too quickly. I made this sweet potato cheesecake to bring with us to a family get together. I’ve posted it before, but this really is one of my top five favorite recipes. You can find the previous post and recipe at this Sweet Precision link. Enjoy!

25 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Cheesecake

  1. Wow, this looks delicious Heather! I am totally with you on loving January 1. Such a great time for renewal and the possibility of change :) I love the fact that you made a baking goals’ list. What a great idea! I always make general personal or household lists. You have inspired me to make a list like this for 2016. Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Mmmmm…this looks so delicious! Happy New Year Heather, so glad you had a wonderful Christmas. Like you, mine went way too fast. I don’t do resolutions as such, I never keep them! They sound great, but well, we all know what happens..! I’ve always wanted to take a cake decorating class. Maybe one of these years. I hope this year brings you nothing but the best of everything my friend :-) xo

    Like

  3. Oh thank you Sherri! I haven’t made a big resolution in a couple years for that very same reason. Usually by the time February rolls around I find my motivation seriously declining… especially when it comes to eating healthy and nutrition ;)

    Like

  4. Love your idea of baking goals. You are smart to set goals that are important to you and able to be achieved in our busy lives….and this cheesecake was delicious.

    Like

  5. This is so, so pretty. Beautiful cheesecake! I’m only just starting to get used to the idea of sweet potato and pumpkin in desserts (I hadn’t really even heard of it til I started reading American blogs) but I do like it now, particularly because of the spices. I would love to try a cheesecake version. Love your list of culinary goals too!

    Like

    • I hadn’t even thought of it being an American custom but that actually makes sense! We tend to go a little crazy in the fall! I do some pumpkin desserts but I think sweet potato is 100% better. I think there’s just more depth to their flavor, and it’s what I grew up with ;-)

      Like

      • That’s really interesting, I can imagine how sweet potato would add some extra complexity. An American friend sent me some cans of spiced pumpkin mash which were really interesting, considering we can’t get canned pumpkin mash at all here! I must try more of these sorts of desserts :)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

