The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

7924324_m

This post is dedicated to everything sugar cookie related. Since the Christmas holiday is right around the corner, I know many of you will be heading into the kitchen to make some sugar cookies. I had a blast making mine this year! The recipe that I’m sharing today isn’t a new one on Sweet Precision, but I wanted to post it again because it’s my go to recipe every year.

Today, I’m going to share my top three tips for baking sugar cookies. This comes after many baking failures and mishaps in the kitchen making sugar cookies. I always say that mistakes are how we learn in the kitchen. Hopefully I can save you a few baking disasters this holiday season!

1. Chill your dough at least 3 hours in the refrigerator before using (overnight is even better). Every recipe tells you to do this because IT WORKS. The alternative is dough that is too soft and won’t hold its shape.

2. Often recipes call for you to bake cookies until the outer crust is “golden brown”. Sugar cookies are an exception to this rule. You want to catch the cookies BEFORE the edges develop that golden hue. This way you can ensure your cookies will be soft and not crunchy.

3. Repeat after me… I will NEVER EVER place my cookies on a warm cookie sheet. If you’ve done this, you know that the cookies begin to spread even before you get them in the oven. This results in cookies that are not uniform in shape and size.

20917843_m

Rolled Sugar Cookie Recipe
Adapted from All Recipes

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups butter, softened
3 cups white sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
5 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
Powdered sugar, for rolling out dough

Directions
In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth and light in color. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Next add vanilla and lemon extract. Slowly stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. After dough has come together, shape into two or three balls, cover with plastic wrap and chill. Chill at least three hours in the fridge but preferably overnight. If you are pressed for time, you can use the freezer to speed up the process.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Sprinkle your work surface with powdered sugar. Remove one pack of chilled dough at a time and roll out to approximately 1/4-inch thick. Your dough can be slightly thicker or thinner based on how long you will bake your cookies. As you are rolling, frequently check to make sure that it’s not sticking to the table. Use cookie cutter to cut into your desired shape and place on a greased cookie sheet or parchment paper. Bake for 6-8 minutes. Allow cookies to cool completely before removing.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Did you know that the color of your baking sheet will affect your baking time? In my kitchen, my favorite cookie sheet is a shiny aluminum pan that was passed down from my parents. Aluminum pans result in evenly browned cookies. This year I just invested in two new aluminum cookie sheets from Amazon that are amazing.

20918095_m

12 thoughts on “The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

    • Thank you Suzanne! I just read your post about all the baking you’ve been doing for the holidays and I was quite impressed. I’ve only made 3 or 4 different batches of cookies for holiday parties, Christmas gifts etc. I still have a few more things that are on my “to-do” list for baking this weekend!

      Like

  1. Cookies look amazing as always! Great tips – especially the overnight chilling. I always do that because – as you said – IT DOES WORK!
    Love your new icon! As cheerful and lovely as you! :-)

    Like

  2. Some of your most interesting photo’s on this post. I was almost transported into a snowstorm of tasty snowflake cookies. in a winter forest, Yum.

    Like

Leave a Reply

