Molasses Sugar Cookies

FullSizeRender

I really do enjoy baking Christmas cookies. Each holiday season, I love to peruse cookbooks and Pinterest to find inspiration for new cookie ideas. When I was growing up, my mom and I used to bake several batches of cookies each Christmas. One of my favorites were called ting-a-lings, which are basically chow mein noodles mixed with melted chocolate and dried in little clumps—trust me, they’re delicious! There’s always a reason to bake cookies around the holiday season—work Christmas parties, cookie swaps, the list could be endless!

I’m a fan of cookies that come together quickly and only use one bowl. These molasses sugar cookies fit the bill just perfectly. They are a wonderfully chewy spice cookie that have hints of ginger and clove. Molasses performs the same nifty trick that brown sugar will in baked goods, adding a firm chewiness to these cookies. The cookies are nearly crisp at the edges and though they are exceptionally chewy, they aren’t soft.

FullSizeRender (3)

Molasses Sugar Cookies
Makes approximately 72 cookies

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups shortening
2 cups white sugar
1/2 cup molasses
2 eggs
4 cups all-purpose flour
4 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon salt

Directions
Melt the shortening in a large pan on the stove, and cool. Add sugar, eggs, and molasses, beat well. In a separate bowl, sift dry ingredients together and add to the pan. Mix well and chill 3 hours or overnight.

Form into walnut-size balls. Roll in granulated sugar. Place on greased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.
Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 8-10 minutes.

Store in an airtight container to keep from getting overly crisp. If they do lose their softness, an easy way to restore it is to place one slice of fresh bread in the container with the cookies for a couple of hours or overnight and they will be soft again!

Heather’s Helpful Hints
I’m quite firm about using real butter for all my baking recipes, but molasses cookies are the one exception. Using shortening will give this cookie its chewiness so I’d recommend NOT to substitute with butter.

FullSizeRender (2)

25 thoughts on “Molasses Sugar Cookies

  1. Gorgeous cookies, Heather! This afternoon Her Majesty and I made some chocolate chip cookies and the whole thing turned out to be a total disaster! 😥 Wish you would have been in the kitchen with us!

    Like

    • Oh no, that is the worst feeling when a batch of cookies doesn’t turn out. It’s happened to me before and I know it’s such a disappointment. Especially if you have to waste some of your ingredients. I always say you learn the most when things don’t go the way you planned though. Im sure your next batch will be fabulous ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mmmmm…I can smell these delicious looking cookies from here! Oh Heather, I remember all those homemade cookie swaps when I lived in the States. People here don’t do that so much and I miss it. I loved making all those homemade treats with the kids and wrapping them prettily. They make such great gifts :-)

    Like

    • The cookie swaps are so much fun Sherri! Sometimes I find myself getting a little overwhelmed with all the baking, but I know that I would miss the tradition if I didn’t have the opportunity. During the holidays I’ve found that I’m a fan of cookie recipes that require minimal work and come together quickly.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have not made molasses cookies for years…I can just about taste your by looking at the photos on my screen. Too bad you can’t send me a virtual sample ;) Maybe I’ll “need” to make them this Christmas :)

    Like

  4. My mother-in-law makes something similar to ting-a-lings. I love the crunch and savory aspect of the chow mein noodles with the sweet. Your cookies look divine. I don’t bake with molasses enough..I have to try these :-)

    Like

      • I asked my mother-in-law and she uses butterscotch not chocolate. For some reason I thought it was chocolate ;) I bet the ting-a-lings are awesome! Don’t you just love childhood food memories…

        Like

        • Yummy! I bet butterscotch tastes wonderful as well. I will have to try this next time I make a batch, which very well may be this weekend. We’ve got a cookie swap at work on Monday :) I agree Antonia, there is something special about those foods we remember from childhood!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. This looks scrumptious! I’ve never had molasses before but I’m sure those cookies are just heavenly and perfect for the holidays. Thank you for sharing such a fabulous recipe – on the to-make list now! :)

    Like

  6. One of my all time favorite cookies and yours are so moist and chewy! I could eat way more than I need to…..several days in a row. Great post. Brought back some fun memories of days in the kitchen with you and with my grandma.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Spiced Stained Glass Cookies

Leave a Reply

