OREO Turtle Cheesecake

IMG_0917

“I want cheesecake for my birthday! Can you make some…PLEEEEASE?”

This is the annual request that I get from Matthew on his birthday. It’s a request that (most of the time) I am more than happy to oblige. The exception being last year when I decided to forgo making a birthday cheesecake—an unfortunate occurrence that he has reminded me of several times over the past year.

Having failed at my birthday cheesecake duty last year, I wanted to make something unique and special this year. It’ll be hard to top my favorite which was a Sweet Potato Cheesecake that I made a couple of years ago. However, inspiration struck one day during my weekly grocery run to Meijer. OREO cookies are one of Matt’s favorites, and I thought why not try and incorporate them into a cheesecake?!

This delectable cheesecake boasts an OREO cookie crust topped with a nutty layer of caramel and a classic cheesecake filling. Drizzles of melted chocolate and caramel-pecan sauce finish it off in style. This cheesecake takes a little more work than your basic recipe, but it’s definitely worth the effort.

IMG_0916

The Ultimate OREO Turtle Cheesecake
Makes approximately 12 servings

Ingredients
24 OREO cookies, finely crushed
6 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
1 (14 ounce) package caramels
1/2 cup whole milk
1/2 cup chopped pecans
3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
3 eggs
2 ounces semi-sweet baking chocolate

Directions
Place racks in the center of the oven and preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Mix cookie crumbs and butter; press onto bottom and 2 inches up side of 9-inch springform pan.

Microwave caramels and milk in a microwaveable bowl on high for 3 minutes or until caramels are completely melted and mixture is well blended, stirring after each minute. Stir in nuts; pour half into crust. Refrigerate 10 minutes. Refrigerate remaining caramel mixture for later use.

Beat cream cheese, sugar and vanilla with mixer until blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, mixing on low speed after each just until blended. Pour over caramel layer in crust.

Bake 1 hour 5 minutes to 1 hour 10 minutes or until center is almost set. Run knife around rim of pan to loosen cake; cool before removing rim. Refrigerate 4 hours.

Microwave reserved caramel mixture 1 minute; stir. Pour over cheesecake. Melt chocolate; drizzle over cheesecake.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Be sure to use a cookie sheet under your springform pan when baking in the oven. The caramel may ooze out during baking and this way it won’t get your oven dirty.

IMG_0918

27 thoughts on “OREO Turtle Cheesecake

  1. Thank you for a new cheesecake recipe Heather! I used to make turtle cheese cake years ago. Don’t think I know where the recipe is. It was a chocolate swirl cheesecake with the same toppings. I’ve been making the sweet potato cheesecake ever since you posted it. Thinking of making it for Thanksgiving. Thanks to Matt I can get new recipes. And I love Oreos too! Great cousins think alike! LOL!

    Like

    • Hi Jan! It’s so good to hear from you :) I’m so glad to hear that you’ve been using that sweet potato cheesecake recipe, it’s one of my favorites! I looove the idea of a chocolate swirl cheesecake…drool. I am a complete chocoholic! Hope that all is well with you and the family and happy (early) Thanksgiving!!

      Like

  2. Mmmmm.. Happy Birthday to Matt! Heather, we’re on the same wavelength; every year I make my middle son Nicky a Chocolate Dirt Cake. The ‘dirt’ is crushed oreos on top of cocoa fudge frosting, with gummy worms ‘crawling’ along the top. I’ve made it for him since he was eight years old and he’s going to be 27 on Sunday. Still a big kid huh? Thanks for this wonderful recipe, and I wish you and Matt a very Happy Thanksgiving :-)

    Like

  3. I am SO glad I discovered your blog! We have the same taste in food – okay, basically a sweet tooth – and I think your recipes are simple but beautifully-crafted and presented in the loveliest way possible. Amazing work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

