Dark Chocolate and Date Granola Bites

IMG_9398

Things have been a little quiet in the Sweet Precision kitchen lately. Don’t worry, I haven’t disappeared. And I actually HAVE been baking things. I’ve just been a little remiss when it comes to snapping some pictures and coming up with inspiration for a post. So instead of coming up with something witty to write about, I thought I’d just tell you how we’ve all been doing over the past month!

Life has been unexpectedly relaxing in Ann Arbor as we’ve headed into summer. Matt finished up his third year of school and is now beginning to study for his preliminary exam which he will take in August. One look at the list of books he is required to read has me thankful that my summer reading list only includes this and this. I had a quick trip to Minnesota to see a friend graduate as a Physician Assistant and to celebrate Mother’s Day. We then got to entertain when my college roomie visited Ann Arbor for a long weekend. Maya has been taking obedience classes (with limited success) and much amusement on our part. And now that it’s June, we Matt can plant the seedlings in our his garden. So that’s a run-down of what we’ve been up to over the past month!

Now onto the baking side of things…

Today, I wanted to share a no-bake recipe with you because as summer heats up, I find myself wanting to use my oven less and less. These granola bites are incredibly versatile and you can tailor them to include whatever strikes your fancy. I think they’re a great snack to keep in the refrigerator for those moments when you need a little treat. They’re like a homemade granola bar, but have the bonus of coming in a portion-controlled, bite size piece.

IMG_9394

Dark Chocolate and Date Granola Bites

Servings: 24 • Size: 1 inch balls • Calories: 106.0 • Fat: 4.0 g • Carbs: 19.0 g • Fiber: 1.0 g • Protein: 1.0 g • Sugar: 15.0 g • Sodium: 1.0 mg

Ingredients
1 cup chopped dates
1/2 cup honey
1 1/2 cups dry old-fashioned oats
4 ounces unsalted cashews (chopped)
4 ounces mini dark chocolate chips

Directions
On a cutting board, roughly chop the cashews and set aside. Combine the dates and honey in a food processor, and pulse until smooth and combined. Transfer the mixture to a large bowl, and stir in the oats, cashews, and dark chocolate chips until evenly combined. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Once the mixture is cool (and easier to work with), use a spoon or cookie scoop to shape it into your desired size of energy balls. Store covered in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Dates are a great alternative for sugar in certain recipes. With a subtle sweetness, they can be perfect for brownie batter or the base of homemade granola bars. Substitute two-thirds cup for one cup of regular sugar.

IMG_9408

12 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate and Date Granola Bites

  1. These look and sound delicious! I’ve been seriously lacking in the healthy snack food department, so I should give these a try sometime. Like Matt, I too just finished the third year of my program here and am in the midst of qualifying and preliminary exams/papers – good luck to him!

    Like

    • Oh goodness, qualifying exams are a TON of work! Best of luck to you too with all your studying this summer. I feel like healthy snacking is one of the hardest things for me. I’ve been eating these little guys as an after dinner snack this week and it’s been the perfect sweet treat :)

      Like

  2. Oh my goodness. These look delicious AND easy enough for me to make. They are on my list to make as soon as I gather a couple of ingredients. Also thought you might like to know that I am 357 on the hold list at the library for The Girl On The Train!!

    Like

    • Yes! That was actually my inspiration for making these! I didn’t add in all the other healthy stuff you see in energy bites but it was the same concept. I had an energy bite at a local coffee shop about a month ago and I wanted to do a fun twist on the idea.

      Like

  3. I share your philosophy. Better keep it quite and wait for some inspiration to come than publish a meaningless post.
    I remember Sofia’s obedience classes … a total disaster! :-) Could be our fault? It is always parents’ fault … ;-)
    Your granola bites looks awesome and they should be too many calories, I guess.
    Enjoy the warm weather. It was about time! ;-)

    Like

    • Absolutely, I came to the conclusion that blogging should always be FUN! And if that means waiting a few extra weeks for some inspiration, well there’s nothing wrong with that :) Oh the good stories we have from obedience class! The first day was a total disaster… it was completely comical. But yes, the instructor told us that the class was more for us humans than the dogs!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

