Easy Weeknight Chili Recipe

IMG_9173

After a few beautiful 70 degree days, I was just beginning to think that summer was right around the corner. But then the inevitable happened last week… snowflakes. It was with much resistance that I broke out my winter jacket and mittens for one final hurrah. All grumbling and complaints aside, the unseasonably cold weather did give me the perfect excuse to cook one of my favorite winter meals—homemade chili. So before the Sweet Precision kitchen plunges into refreshing summer recipes, I’ll pass along one final dish that is perfect for dinner on a chilly evening.

I love this chili recipe because it comes together so quickly. Any professional chef will tell you that true flavor complexity is achieved by simmering your chili for many hours. However, the reality is that we don’t always have that much time to spare on a weeknight! This recipe includes enough spices to leave you with a complex flavor without hours of simmering. I like to make this recipe on a Sunday and then use the leftovers for lunch during the week.

One quick note about the chicken stock in this recipe. You’re free to use whatever version of stock you prefer. Whether it be bouillon cubes, canned stock, or even homemade stock. For years my dad used to tease me about using store-bought chicken stock. He would shake his head as I would explain that I simply didn’t have enough time make homemade stock for all my recipes. Well let me say that after using homemade stock in several recipes, I can say that you definitely can tell the difference. AND… it’s 100% worth it to take the time to make a big batch and store some in your freezer for future use. I’ll be posting about making homemade stock in the future, but for now feel free to check out this great recipe at All Recipes.

IMG_9168

Easy Weeknight Chili Recipe

Servings: 6 • Size: 1.5 cups • Calories: 260 • Fat: 4.0 g • Carbs: 34.0 g • Fiber: 9.0 g • Protein: 25.0 g • Sugar: 11.0 g • Sodium: 367.0 g

Ingredients
16 ounces lean ground beef (96% lean)
1 bell pepper chopped
1/2 cup onion chopped
2 garlic cloves
14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes (no salt added)
6 ounce can tomato paste
16 ounce can dark red kidney beans (reduced sodium)
4 cups chicken broth
1 cup frozen corn
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 tablespoon cumin
1 tablespoon oregano
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Directions
In a large pot, brown beef on medium heat, breaking up with a wooden spoon as it cooks. When cooked through, add pepper, onion, and garlic and cook 2-3 minutes. Add diced tomatoes, tomato paste, beans, chicken broth, corn, and spices. Bring to a boil and simmer about 10-15 minutes.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
A killer bowl of chili is not complete without toppings! Don’t forget to finish off your chili with some of your favorite toppings. I love Greek yogurt, sliced scallions, and of course plenty of grated cheddar cheese.

IMG_9172

18 thoughts on “Easy Weeknight Chili Recipe

  1. Oh my, Heather. Dad will definately love this recipe. You know that I do, too. I love any kind of chilli and I like the touch of frozen corn. Bet for a camping weekend in the summer fresh corn cut off the cob would be delicious.

    Like

  2. Hello Heather, the weather has been much the same here, except without the snow, fine and sunny for a while and now a lot chillier with rain. I love the idea of quick recipes – your chilli looks so good and I am dreaming of it with all the toppings. I haven’t made one for an age so if the cold snap continues I think one is definitely on the menu. :)

    Like

  3. I love chilli and your recipe looks so yummy right now, I’m starving! Oh Heather, sounds like you had similar weather: we had lovely, sunny and warm spring days and since late last week, it has turned so cold and wet again (but not complaining about the wet as we badly need the rains for our gardens!). Hope this is the last of your snow…but as you say, what a great excuse for some of your delcious chilli :-)

    Like

    • We had a spell of rain a couple weeks ago and although it was terribly dreary it seemed that all the trees, grass, and flowers came to life right afterwards! Hopefully all the snow is behind us and we’re headed full speed into summer! I hope that you have a wonderful weekend Sherri and happy Friday :)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh that’s good and I do hope so Heather! A lovely weekend thank you, spent in London and going to a show about The Kinks! I hope you had a lovely weekend too with a good week ahead :-)

        Like

  4. I can’t believe you had snow! What’s happening? I’m so ready to migrate to some place warm and sunny. I can’t take it anymore!
    Your chili sounds heavenly and looks delicious, Heather! I think I could eat a bowl every night!
    Wishing you some glorious sunshine! 🌞

    Like

  5. It’s been so hot here! AND we have 3 Beluga’s in Narragansett Bay (they usually travel no further south than the St. Lawrence Seaway). Maybe they wanted a tropical vacation!!!

    Still — I LOVE chili, and will make it as soon as it cools off. We’re sure to get a cold spell, it’s only May after all!

    Your recipe is so similar to ours, it’s almost scary. Ken prefers it without tomato paste (so it’s a bit soupier), and we use pinto beans instead of kidney. Otherwise, exactly the same. Proving that you have good taste! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m 100% jealous of your warm weather Tracy! I was actually back in Minnesota this past weekend for Mother’s Day and the weather was very chilly. I think the weather even followed me to Ann Arbor!

      How exciting that you have some beluga whales so close to you. As a child I was fascinated by whales and only saw one once in a family trip to Alaska.

      Like

      • Only when you’re ready. Blogging should have no pressure associated with it; (my new rule). I’m pretty sure that if it isn’t fun, relaxing, social, or whatever makes us happy, it’s a waste of time. That was just my way of letting you know I was thinking of you. And anticipating a good pie recipe. No hurry. <3

        Like

      • Oh Tracy, I completely agree with you on this one. I’ve actually been enjoying a little peace and quiet on the blog front lately, and it’s been… NICE! Much better than trying to crank out an uninspired post. It’s funny we should have this conversation because just this past weekend I started working on my first post in over a month.

        Like

Leave a Reply

