Valentine’s Rice Krispies Treats

IMG_8632

Winter has arrived in full force here in Ann Arbor. We received 15 inches of snow last week, and the forecast is still calling for more. It’s easy to be glum about the short days and bitter winds. Especially when Punxsutawney Phil sees his shadow, portending six more weeks of winter. However, there is so much to love about the season! Here are just a few of my favorite things about winter, which will hopefully have you embracing the next inch or two of snow that arrives in your driveway.

1. Tights and leggings
2. Cold, crisp air
3. Hot apple cider
4. Justifiable hibernation
5. Snow days and snow emergencies
6. Seeing your pets reaction to the snow
7. Winter sunrises
8. The first snow of the year
9. Fuzzy socks
10. Comfort food

Speaking of comfort food… a chilly winter day is all the motivation I need to do some serious baking. One of my favorite snacks growing up were the pre-packaged Rice Krispies that came in a little blue package. My mom and I used to buy them in bulk at Sams Club. While I don’t snack on them that often these days, I still enjoy one from the vending machine now and then. This week in the Sweet Precision kitchen, I decided to be a little creative and make some Valentine’s Day inspired Rice Krispies. All you need is a cookie cutter, red or pink candy melts, and some red sprinkles to take this every day dessert to the next level.

IMG_8629

Valentine’s Rice Krispies Treats
Makes approximately 24 treats

Ingredients
1/4 cup butter
4 cups miniature marshmallows
5 cups Rice Krispies cereal
red or pink candy melts

Directions
Melt margarine in large sauce pan over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until melted and well-blended. Cook 2 minutes longer, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Add cereal. Stir until well coated.

Using buttered spatula or waxed paper, press mixture evenly and firmly in buttered 13 x 9 inch pan. Cut the treats into heart shapes with a 2- 3-inch cookie cutter when cool.

Melt the candy melts according to the package directions. Transfer into a plastic bag with a corner cut off for piping. Decorate with sprinkles and let chocolate set before serving. Enjoy!

Heather’s Helpful Hints
When making your treats, don’t crank the heat on the stovetop too high. I get it, you want to get these quick-to-make treats set as soon as possible so you can dig in. High heat is the prime culprit for rock hard Rice Krispies. It will take a few more minutes of cook time, but melt the butter and marshmallows over low heat. You’ll be rewarded with delicious, soft and chewy treats!

IMG_8633

15 thoughts on “Valentine’s Rice Krispies Treats

  1. I know what I’m making for hubby and daughter for Valentine’s this year Heather – they both love Rice Krispies (and my kids loved the ones in the blue packets too, daughter does still!). So easy and now we have a fabulous craft store open not far from us that sells everything, including American candy melts, yay!!! I’m so excited about your wonderful recipe, thank you! And I love your reasons for loving a good snow day…we haven’t had any here sadly. But there’s still time… !

    Like

    • Oh YAY, I’m so glad that you stumbled across this recipe and are going to try it out! I must say that those American candy melts are one of my favorite things to use when baking. They were on sale at Michael’s this past week and I stocked up on a bunch of them! I hope you and the family enjoy them Sherri :)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I adored going to Michael’s when we lived in CA! I used to take my daughter there all the time to buy her art supplies. The new hobby shop just opened not far from us reminds me so much of Michael’s and Heather, you should have seen me when I saw all those Wilton cake baking products, just like the ones I used to buy and use and then the candy melts too, I was so happy :-) I still have my molds that I used when making little party favours for baby showers and birthday parties. I can’t wait to make your Valentine’s treats…I’ll take a photo for you :-)

        Like

      • Sometimes I feel like a kid in a candy store when I’m perusing the aisles of a hobby shop! Given an unlimited budget, I’m sure I could spend hours on end buying supplies for a million different projects. The baking section always my favorite :-) I’ve actually always eyed those candy molds and thought about using them for a project. I love the idea of making little favours for a party- how creative! I will have to give this a try sometime soon :-)

        Like

  2. Wow! Your list is really impressive! The only thing I embrance about winter is my blanket! 😉 But I agree on the pets’ reaction: Sofia is so happy playing with the snow!
    Your Valentine “lecture” of Rice Krispies is super pretty! What a great idea! 😍

    Like

    • It’s tough to come up with a good “why I love winter list’ especially when it’s in the single digits outside! I can only imagine that Sofia loves the snow just as much as Maya does. It’s so adorable to watch her bound through the fresh snow :)

      Like

  3. Thanks for your idea of slow melting of ingredients. I don’t like making rice krispie bars because it is so stiff to work with. You have motivated me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

