Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins

IMG_8446

It feels like the month of January has flown by in record time! Matt and I rung in 2015 with family in Minnesota. Since then we’ve slowly been getting back into our groove in Ann Arbor. After two weeks of vacation, coming back to work is always challenging. However, there’s always some comfort in settling back into a routine and what is familiar.

I decided not to make any resolutions in 2015 because I inevitably start to lose motivation by the time February rolls around. Instead I decided to dedicate myself to working out with a trainer doing semi-private lessons with one of my workout buddies. I usually really enjoy group fitness classes so I was a little skeptical of working out with just one other person. Although each session is challenging, I’ve found that I’m really enjoying myself! One of the hardest parts is waking up for our 6 am workouts once a week. Although I am a morning person, it’s hard to get myself out of bed that early. Once I’m awake, the bigger question then becomes what on earth do I eat so early in the morning?!

These oatmeal blueberry muffins are the perfect answer to that question. They are packed with healthy ingredients and even got a thumbs up from Matt in a taste test. I love popping one in the microwave for a quick and easy snack. Considering they only have 130 calories and 2 grams of fat, you can indulge without guilt. So give these muffins a try and enjoy!

IMG_8456

Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins
Makes approximately12 muffins

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups quick oats
1 cup skim milk
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
2 tablespoons agave
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 egg whites
1 tablespoon oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup fresh blueberries

Directions
Preheat oven to 400°. Line a muffin tin with liners and lightly spray with oil.

Place oats in a food processor or chopper and pulse a few times. Soak oats in milk for about 30 minutes.

In a medium bowl combine brown sugar, agave, apple sauce, vanilla, egg whites, oil and mix well.
In a third bowl combine whole wheat flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and whisk to combine.

Combine oats and milk with sugar, applesauce mixture and mix well. Slowly add in the dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated. Fold in blueberries.

Spoon into the muffin tin and bake for 22-24 minutes.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
When you bake with fresh or frozen blueberries, the color is affected by the level of acidity in the batter. If the batter has a bit too much baking soda, the blueberries turn green around the edges. You can balance the acidity by adding in a little extra vinegar (or buttermilk, or whatever acid that is called for in the recipe) to balance out the extra baking soda, or you could even use a touch less baking soda in the next recipe.

IMG_8448

15 thoughts on “Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins

  1. Wow! 6am? You must be really motivated! The last time I was up at 6am I was breastfeeding! 😜
    These muffins look fantastic and the low calories make them irresistible!
    Love,
    F. Xx

    Like

  2. Your blueberry muffins look delicious. I wish you lots of luck with the training sessions, I don’t envy you the getting out of bed early to do them. I am glad I joined a gym and I am surprising myself by enjoying my workouts there. Although I think the moment I enjoy most is the one when I finish the circuit. ;)

    Like

  3. Sounds like you have a wonderful workout regime going on there Heather! Well done, you are braver than me. I am definitely not a morning person either. Needless to say, your Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins sound very healthy and perfect for breakfast on those workout mornings :-)

    Like

  4. Considering what happened to my last batch of blueberry muffins I will have to give yours a try. Won’t have to write NO on your recipe, I’ll bet. Glad they are so healthy, too, and have the Matthew taste test of approval.

    Like

Leave a Reply

