Chewy Low Fat Banana Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

IMG_7857

I’ve returned from my one month blog hiatus! Matt and I had a wonderful wedding and honeymoon, and now it’s time to get back to reality… sigh. A quick recap would include the beautiful wedding ceremony in Gibraltar, the vibrant culture of Morocco, and our relaxing Mediterranean cruise. The highlights included delicious food, lots of sunshine and warm weather, and a chance to truly unplug for two entire weeks. Challenges included a six hour delayed flight in Casablanca causing us to miss the first day of our cruise and me being randomly chosen at the airport for a strip search… not fun. However, the highlights overshadowed the challenges and we had an amazing time together.

I’ve slowly been getting back to my baking and general life responsibilities. Truth be told, I’ve been putting off this post for awhile but didn’t want to go the entire month of October without connecting with everyone.

So, let’s talk about these cookies. Typically I’m not a fan of “healthy” baked goods. I figure if you’re going to splurge on a treat, just eat small amount of a delicious full-fat item. It was with some trepidation that I gave these cookies a try. Let me tell you that they are a winner! The ingredients are simple (I didn’t even have to make a trip to the grocery store) and they come together in a flash. In fact, if you don’t tell people that they are low-fat no one will know the difference. That’s exactly what I plan to do when I bring these cookies into work for my coworkers tomorrow.

IMG_7854

Chewy Low Fat Banana Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies
Makes approximately 30 cookies

Ingredients
1 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup unpacked brown sugar
1 large egg
1/4 cup mashed ripe banana
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups quick oats
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions
Preheat oven to 350°; line two baking sheets with parchment paper or use a silpat baking sheet.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. In a large bowl, with a mixer, cream together the butter and the sugars on medium speed. Add the egg, followed by the mashed banana and vanilla extract. Working by hand, stir in the flour mixture and the oats until just combined and no streaks of flour remain; stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop heaping tablespoonfuls of the dough onto prepared baking sheets. Bake for about 10-12 minutes, or until cookies become light brown at the edges. Let cool on baking sheet for 3 or 4 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
I’ve discovered a wonderful baking gadget that I would recommend to any one that likes to bake cookies. A Silpat baking sheet is a mat that will turn your pan into a non-stick surface. You can use Silpat for any baking recipe that calls for parchment paper. Since nothing sticks to it, you save tons of time during the cleanup process. You can check it out on Amazon.

IMG_7856

22 thoughts on “Chewy Low Fat Banana Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Welcome back. Your online friends missed you even though we knew you were having the adventure of a lifetime. I love banana bread, enjoy oatmeal in baking and am a fan of low fat. These cookies sound like they may be a winner in our home. Thanks Heather.

    Like

  2. These are a winner, indeed. I’m going to bake a batch this weekend, perhaps even today. Ken has been wanting a treat (he usually bakes his own, but has too much going on at the moment to find the time/energy for baking), and I refuse to bake anything that isn’t healthy enough for me to also eat. I’ll tell him these are from you. Thanks! (P.S. I love my silpat)

    Like

  3. Welcome back Heather, lovely to see you looking so radiant and happy in your beautiful new photo! Sounds like you had a wonderful wedding and honeymoon, sounds absolutely dreamy apart from the missed first day and a strip search. How horrible to have to go through that. I thought I would have to when we flew to France in the summer as I kept setting off the security buzzer and they couldn’t find out why!!! As always, your cookies look and sound absolutely yummy. And as for the Silpat, I’m getting one of those, it sounds miraculous, thanks so much for the great tip :-)

    Like

    • Oh thank you Sherri! It felt so good to get back into the kitchen. I’d missed the routine of baking, taking pictures, and writing a little story. I’d also forgotten how time consuming it can be! I hope you enjoy your Silpat. I’m tempted to get another because it made everything such a breeze and my least favorite part of any cooking is the cleanup.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello Heather and welcome back to bogland. It sounds like you had a wonderful time at and post your wedding. Although I am sorry to hear of the delayed flight. And especially about the strip search. my heart goes out to you. I love the sound of these especially the chewy and chocolate elements. I have a too large a bunch of bananas in the house and I was going to make banana bread but now I think I will make these instead. ;)

    Like

    • It feels so wonderful to be back :) I actually had fun over the past couple weeks going around and seeing what everyone had been up to. It’s amazing how much you can miss in such a short time frame. I loved the updates from your photography class. I think it’s so wonderful that you’re doing that! I hope you enjoy the recipe, it’s such a breeze to make and was definitely one of my favorites!!

      Like

  5. Sounds like you had a great wedding and a fantastic honeymoon! Challenges happen all the time. The important thing is not to let them cast a shadow on your time together and I’m sure you didn’t!
    I love your cookies! I’m starting to enjoy oatmeal cookies lately and I’m totally bookmarking your recipe!

    Like

  6. Soundia like you had a wonderful time…so happy for you! ❤️ Those cookies look wonderful, love recipes that are healthier but still full of flavor. I agree I normally do not go for the low-fat dessert but these look great!

    Like

  7. By the way, I’m still majorly P.O.-ed about the search at the airport. I’m trying to figure out how to track down those people so I can give them a good, scolding talk-to. It’s ridiculous, that anything like that happens.

    Like

Leave a Reply

