Homemade Doggie Treats

photo (7)

Last weekend Matt and I had our world turned upside down.

The culprit behind this upheaval is the cutest little furry four pound bundle of joy you could ever imagine. Her name is Maya, she is eight weeks old, and she is a Boston Terrier and French Bulldog mix. But don’t let her cute puppy dog eyes deceive you. She’s as naughty as she is cute! For every cute yawn, snuggle, and tail wag—there is a chewed up dish towel or mysterious accident discovered hours later.

We’d been planning on getting a puppy for months, but neither of us had any idea just how much work would go into becoming new parents! The funny part is that despite all the hard work, I’ve found myself becoming a “dog person” almost overnight. I’m quick to whip out a picture of her on my iPhone to show a coworker. I send videos of her doing the most mundane things (like climbing the stairs) to my family. Matt and I even huddle together at night plotting which commands we want to begin teaching her.

photo 1 (1)

It should come as no surprise that my baking project this week would be inspired by Maya. We’ve been trying to reward her with treats when she does something good. Going potty outside… treat. Coming to me when I call… treat. Dropping her toys when we ask…treat. Going into her crate willingly… lots of treats! Suffice it to say, we’ve gone through almost half a bag of treats in just one week. That is why I decided to bake some homemade doggie treats for Maya. The recipe is simple and contains only doggie-safe ingredients. Considering what you can pay for a bag of treats at the store, making your own treats is incredibly economical!

photo 2 (1)

Homemade Doggie Treats

Ingredients
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 cup unsalted natural peanut butter
1 cup skim milk

Directions
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and grease cookie sheets.

Stir together the flour and baking powder; set aside. In a medium bowl, mix together the peanut butter and milk. Stir in the flour mixture until well blended.

Turn out dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth. Roll out to 1/4 inch thickness and cut into shapes using cookie cutters. Place 2 inches apart onto the prepared cookie sheets.

Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until lightly brown. Remove from cookie sheets to cool on wire racks.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
If you want to store these treats for longer than a week, make sure you package them with plastic wrap and store them in the freezer.

Photo (8)

 

 

26 thoughts on “Homemade Doggie Treats

  1. Maya is adorable. I love french bulldogs (well all dogs actually ). I would never get another blog post done if she was living with me. Puppies are such a joy. An internet star is born I think! Emma xx

    Like

    • Oh goodness, it’s a trial getting anything done with her around! I had to hook her up to her leash and have her tethered in the kitchen just to get these cookies done! And even then she wasn’t happy… but she loved the finished product :)

      Like

  2. Congratulations for the addition of a new member of your family Heather! Little Maya is a sweet little thing…………..

    Nancy

    Like

  3. Congratulations guys! Definitely a huge step as a couple. :-)
    Maya is adorable. I know exactly what you are going through. Sofia is now 6 months and she is my second child. I’m sure it is the same for you.
    Heather, you will never stop amazing me. Homemade dog treats? Genius!!!

    Like

  4. We may need to come to you Francesca for tips on how to make it through the first months with a young puppy! It seems her energy and curiosity is endless! Yes, she definitely feels like our “baby” at this point. It seems all our spare energy is spent either playing with or disciplining her :)

    Like

  5. Big time congrats, Heather! Maya is so pretty and she’s got a spark of intelligence mixed up with a little mischief in her eyes, you can just tell! ;-)
    Best wishes for your journey to puppyland! The first few weeks are sure going to be a little bit of a whirlwind, but also a lot of fun!
    Give her lots of love, she’s adorable! :-)

    Like

    • Oh Stefano you are so right! You can definitely see a little bit of mischief in her inquisitive eyes! Puppyland is a whirlwind of activity with hourly bathroom breaks and many trips to Petco! We’re along for the ride though and it’s hard not to love her because she’s so adorable :)

      Like

      • Oh I know! The bathroom breaks at the beginning are tough to deal with, especially at night! But on the bright side you will see that things are going to improve quickly as she will soon be able to hold it longer. Reportedly, the rule of thumb is the same number of hours as the months in her age +1 (e.g., when she is 3 months old she should be able to hold it for up to 4 hours). And yes, she is adorable! :-)

        Like

      • That’s a wonderful tip, I hadn’t heard it before! This definitely puts things in perspective for the near future. I can’t wait until we get to the four hour mark because that will definitely makes things a little more manageable!

        Like

  6. Many congratulations on your new family addition Heather, Maya is adorable and how wonderful that you are making doggie treats for her! I would never have thought of that. Years ago, when living in CA, a friend’s daughter worked in a doggie bakery for a short time, I couldn’t get over how tasty all the doggie cakes and cookies looked! Very happy for you…enjoy…but I do remember how much work they are… ;-)

    Like

    • There are such creative recipes on the internet for doggie desserts! When I was perusing Pinterest I came across some recipes for doggie cupcakes that sounded like so much fun! Maybe for her first birthday :) What a wonderful and creative idea to open up a bakery specifically for animals, what an entrepreneur your friend’s daughter is! Thank you so much for your well wishes! Maya definitely is a handful at times, but the cute look in her eyes when she’s snuggling makes it all worth it :)

      Like

  7. A sweet treat for a sweet new member of your family. I like that you can make them just the right size. Your look tiny enough that you can give her lots and she will think you are just the most wonderful people in the world,,,,which of course you and Matt are!

    Like

  8. Oh my goodness – Maya is so cute! I like baking dog treats for my dog, but mostly because it makes me feel better to know exactly what’s in them…yesterday my dog ate a pencil, so I think it’s safe to say she doesn’t have the most discerning taste!

    Like

  9. I totally know what you mean! Maya eats EVERYTHING around the house :) Sometimes I don’t even know where she finds the stuff. But yes, it’s definitely good to know what you’re feeding your dog. No need for preservatives and other random ingredients.

    Like

Leave a Reply

