Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

photo 1

Last week our temperatures soared to 78 degrees here in Ann Arbor. It was a welcome surprise after the snow we had the week before. Although winter is one of my favorite seasons, nothing beats those first warm days of spring when you begin to see daffodils peeping through the soil and buds appearing on the trees. Most noticeably, some of my favorite spring fruits are making an appearance in the grocery store. It might be a while before we see fresh fruits at the farmers market, but for now I can settle with buying them from Kroger. Last week, I stocked up on some strawberries and rhubarb—two of my favorite springtime fruits.

Last week in the Sweet Precision kitchen I made one of my well known desserts—a fruit crisp. When I was younger, my favorite dish to make was apple crisp. I made it so many times that it was the first dessert I was able to make without a recipe! The wonderful thing about this dessert is that it has infinite variations based on what fruit is available or in season. It’s so versatile you can simply throw in whatever fruits you have laying around the kitchen.

photo 3

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp Recipe
Makes approximately 16 servings

Ingredients
1 cup white sugar
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 cups sliced fresh straw berries
3 cups diced rhubarb
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup butter
1 cup rolled oats

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and place a rack in the middle of the oven.

In a large bowl, mix white sugar, 3 tablespoons flour, strawberries, and rhubarb. Place the mixture in a 9×13 inch baking dish.

Mix 1 1/2 cups flour, brown sugar, butter, and oats until crumbly. You may want to use a pastry blender for this. Crumble on top of the rhubarb and strawberry mixture. Bake 45 minutes in the preheated oven, or until crisp and lightly browned.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
If you don’t have a pastry blender, simply use your hands to mix the butter, flour, and sugar together. As a time saver, you can even mix the topping in advance and then store it in the freezer in an airtight container until you’re ready to use it. This way you can have the crumbly topping on standby for when you get home from work and want to make something sweet and comforting quickly.

photo 2

22 thoughts on “Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

  1. Looks delicious! And what a good idea to freeze the crumble for later use…I love things that make cooking and baking more smooth. I usually always have raw cookie dough balls in the freezer as well. As soon as surprise company arrive they only take about 8-10 minutes in the oven. I will be putting you tip to use.

    Like

  2. This is probably my favorite combo for rhubarb, which I have been devouring since I was a child. My uncle would leave fresh rhubarb sticks in front of our home, and my brother would eat them dipped in sugar….only later did I learn that it makes fantastic pie fillings.

    Like

  3. Wow, that’s warm Heather! Hope the spring weather stays good for you…!
    Now, I do have to say, and you will be shocked, but I don’t like rhubarb!! However, and what a coincidence this is, we had dinner at a friend’s last weekend and she made a strawberry and rhubarb tart (can you believe it?) and I didn’t want to say ‘but I don’t like rhubarb’ so I did eat it and actually, I have to say, I did enjoy it as the rhubarb blended so well with the strawberry that it took away the texture and the overbearing taste which I just don’t like! I’m pretty safe in saying, then, that I know I would enjoy yours (and it looks wonderful) so maybe rhubarb is going up in my estimation after all these years!!! :-)

    Like

    • I think you are in good company with many people Sherri! My dad has kept a rhubarb plant that was passed on from his mother but he can’t stand the fruit! It has a unique and tangy flavor that really is unlike anything else. I agree that it is somewhat overbearing. I’ve never tried cooking with it in a savory dish but I’d be interested to give it a try. But when you load it up in a pie crust with lots of sugar and other tasty fruits it definitely doesn’t disappoint :)

      Like

  4. Mmm…looks delicious! That’s a great idea about making the topping ahead of time and freezing it. I can’t believe I missed such gorgeous weather in Ann Arbor (I was out of town somewhere rainy)!!

    Like

  5. How wonderful to have a recipe that you know so well that you don’t have to look it up, you can change it up with seasonal fruits and everyone will look forward to your delectable treat as it changes with the seasons.

    Like

Leave a Reply

