Miniature Banana Bread Muffins

IMG_5768

I have a very special helper in the kitchen. Whenever I’m mixing and whisking away, this special helper is always ready to lend a helping hand… or paw. Let me introduce you to Rudi, our cat that loves baked goods almost as much as I do. If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you will remember that almost 2 years ago Rudi ran away and had a one month stint in the Ann Arbor wilderness. Upon his return back to captivity, I made him some delicious chewy cat treats. However Rudi doesn’t discriminate between cat and human food, he loves it all.

This past weekend Matt was away at a conference and I was home alone with Rudi. Although we both missed Matt it was nice to have a lazy weekend to relax around the house. I even engaged in one of my favorite guilty pleasures—a Law and Order SVU marathon. No weekend at home would be complete without a little baking, and I decided to experiment by trying out some miniature banana bread muffins.

I love this recipe because it’s so quick and simple! You know those times when you need to make a dessert but don’t have much time for preparation? Well these little morsels are the perfect solution for those moments. It only takes about 5 minutes to mix the ingredients together and then you can put them in the oven and forget about them for 20 minutes. It couldn’t be any simpler than that!

IMG_5764

Banana Bread Miniature Muffins
Makes approximately 24 miniature muffins

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 large bananas, mashed
3/4 cup white sugar
1 egg
1/3 cup butter, melted

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Coat muffin pans with non-stick spray, or use paper liners. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

Combine bananas, sugar, egg, and melted butter in a large bowl. Fold in flour mixture, and mix until smooth. Scoop into muffin pans.

Bake in preheated oven. Bake mini muffins for 10 to 15 minutes, and large muffins for 25 to 30 minutes. Muffins will spring back when lightly tapped.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
If you’d like to jazz up your muffins, try adding a brown sugar crumble to the top. Simply mix together 2 tablespoons four, 3 tablespoons butter, 5 tablespoons brown sugar, and a dash of cinnamon. Evenly sprinkle over the top and voila—you have some added flavor!

IMG_5757

23 thoughts on “Miniature Banana Bread Muffins

  1. It is amazing that he came back after a month! I love Law and Order SVU! Actually I’m obsessed with it but since I gave birth to her majesty, every time I watch an episode with kids involved, I literally freak out! I’m getting paranoic!
    Back to your recipe: one word: delicious! ;-)

    Like

    • I’m so glad that you can relate to my guilty pleasure! When I was living alone in DC I used to get freaked out all the time and would double check to make sure my doors were locked. Yet the series is just so addictive you can’t stop watching!

      Like

  2. Good picture of Rudi and he looks so regal, to bad we will never be friends. Love the recipe as I love banana’s and have a sweet tooth that I can satisfy quickly now. You can bet my muffins will have a crumble on top.

    Like

  3. Oh Heather, so glad that Rudi came back! That must have been so worrying when he disappeared like that. It was obviously your stellar baking that lured him back – that, and the lovely cuddles too :-) These banana bread muffins sound so tasty and it’s no small coincidence as yesterday was Mothering Sunday (Mother’s Day) here and I was treated to a delicious roast by my son Nicky at a lovely pub. He had banana bread and custard for dessert. I tried some and it was delicious but I bet your muffins are even better!
    What a delightful photo of Rudi, how cute is that? What a lovely weekend the two of you had :-) This post is delightful too and now I know what I’m going to bake next time Nicky comes home to visit!

    Like

    • Oh Sherri you are so right! Matt and I were so relieved when Rudi made his was back to us! Come to find out he had been living under a neighbors porch the entire time. Luckily she recognized him from our missing posters. Your Sunday meal sounds absolutely delicious! I was feeling a little badly because I won’t be in Minnesota with my mom for Mothers Day this year so I may have to send her a treat in the mail :)

      Like

      • That’s amazing! He didn’t go too far then and he was safe which is the main thing, phew!
        I’m sure your mom will understand and will more than appreciate something in the mail!
        Have a great rest of the week Heather :-)

        Like

  4. Rudi looks so cute and it’s so good that he found his way back home. I love quick and simple recipes too, and five minutes mixing means they can be whipped up so quickly – I think I will make a batch this weekend.

    Like

  5. Seeing Rudi in the kitchen with you and remembering your post about the cat treats you made for him made me remember the doggie treats you and I made for our Sadie once many years ago. How comforting for you to know that you have an assistant who will gladly be involved in any cooking adventure you embark on.

    Mini muffins are such fun. I do believe, however, that I would have to eat two of these delicious looking ones especially if they have the crumbles on top!

    Like

  6. It would be fun to make doggie treats once we get Otis! There has been more talk of looking at puppies in the upcoming months :)

    These mini muffins were fantastic and considering that we have 4 more bananas in the freezer, I may very well be making more banana themed desserts in the near future!

    Like

Leave a Reply

