Homemade Ritz Crackers

IMG_5533

In the third installment of my February Homemade Baking Challenge, I am sharing a Ritz cracker recipe that is so simple you won’t have to guess at any of the ingredients. During the course of this baking challenge I’ve learned that you literally can make anything you see in a prepackaged box or bag at the grocery store. The shapes and sizes might not be as perfect but I can guarantee that what you make will taste better!

Ritz Crackers are a brand of snack crackers introduced by Nabisco in 1934. They are circular in shape, salted lightly on one side, and have a small scalloped edge. Since establishing their empire in the 1930’s the classic cookie has grown in such popularity that you can now follow Ritz crackers on Twitter and Facebook. The question that no one wants to ask is exactly what are the ingredients that make these cookies so delicious?! I set out to make a simpler and cleaner version of these cookies last weekend.

This past Sunday was yet another snowy day here in Ann Arbor. As a Minnesotan at heart I really do love winter, but it seems as if this year has been particularly cold and snowy. As I sat inside curled up, I actually found myself looking forward to the warmth and sunshine of spring. If only there was a fast forward button for these next few months! Regardless, there’s nothing better than warming up the house with the smell of baked goods on a chilly winter day. These crackers are such a cinch that you can have them ready in less than an hour!

Homemade Ritz Crackers
Adapted from Epicurious

IMG_5545

Ingredients
2 cups flour, all-purpose
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoon butter, unsalted, cold
2 tablespoons olive oil
2/3 cup water
3 tablespoons olive oil, for garnish
1 tablespoon salt, for garnish

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 F.

Put the flour, baking powder, sugar, and 1/2 tsp of salt in the food processor. Pulse to combine. Add cold butter a few small pats at a time, and pulse to combine. Add olive oil. Pulse to combine. Add water a little bit at a time. Pulse to combine after each addition. The dough should start to form a ball.

Roll dough out as thin as you can. Use cookie cutters to cut the dough out. You can make them Ritz-shaped or any shape that you like. Poke holes in the dough in the Ritz pattern or any pattern you like.

Bake the crackers on a parchment-lined baking sheet for ten minutes or until the crackers just begin to brown. As soon as you remove the crackers from the oven, brush them with the remaining olive oil and sprinkle with salt.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Keep a close eye on your crackers to make sure they don’t bake for too long. Depending on how thin your dough is you made need to take a couple minutes off the baking times.

IMG_5542

37 thoughts on “Homemade Ritz Crackers

  1. Well who would have thought it Heather? Wow, you really can make anything and these Ritz crackers look just like the real thing to me! Can’t believe that people can follow them on FB and Twitter, who would have thought that once upon a time ago, ha!
    Hope you get to see signs of spring soon through the snow. You will be more than ready for it when it arrives :-)

    Like

  2. It’s amazing how companies have to evolve to keep up with the ever changing technology. I’m sure in the 1930’s no one could have even imagined what Facebook would be like!

    If you can believe it we got 4 more inches of snow last night! I will be ever so ready when the first signs on spring begin to peek through the snow. Seeing early blossoms and buds is one of my favorite things :)

    Like

  3. You’re Ritz crackers look better than the store- bought and industrially produced version! and I love how they have simple ingredients that can be found in any kitchen. I think that they would be a sure hit at our house and a special treat as well!

    Like

  4. Now I just I cannot believe this! Ritz crackers were so much part of my childhood there so often a box of them at home. I haven’t tasted one for years so I am astonished to hear they are still made and bang up to date with a Twitter feed and a Facebook page. Yours look lovely and authentic with the salt sprinkled on top. ;)

    Like

  5. Now I just cannot believe this! Ritz crackers were so much part of my childhood, there was so often a box of them in the house. I am astonished to hear that they are still made as I haven’t seen or tasted one for years. And bang up to date too with a Twitter feed and Facebook page. Yours look lovely and totally authentic with the salt sprinkled on top. ;)

    Sorry – this may be a duplicate comment as I am sure the original was posted.

    Like

    • No worries! I love the fact that Ritz crackers were a staple in your home growing up :) There is something that is incredibly addicting about them, once I open a sleeve I have to force myself to only eat a few. It’s amazing all the new technology companies have utilize to keep up to date. You just might have to make yourself a batch for old times sake!

      Like

    • Yes! Matt was raving about how they tasted better than the kind you buy at the store (which he loooves to buy). I like the idea of subbing in whole wheat flour for half- it makes the crackers even more nutritious!

      On Tue, Mar 11, 2014 at 12:34 PM, Sweet Precision wrote:

      >

      Like

      • Have you ever tried King Arthur White Whole Wheat? It doesn’t have that bitter red wheaty taste, and is finely ground. I can put it into breads and baked goods at a ratio of 25%, and no one, not even the finickiest eaters in my family, knows. Then, little by little, I increased the ratio, until now, at 50%, they wonder why our home-baked goods have so much more flavor, than others. I’ve since confessed to my subterfuge, and they’ve forgiven me. But they don’t want me to go back, to 100% refined white flour, either.

        It was purely a matter of self-defense. I wanted more than a crumb of the stuff I was baking–I wanted to eat a whole slice without ending up in bed with a sick headache.

        Like

        • What a great trick for sneaking in some added nutrition to baked goods! I’ll have to look for this brand at my grocery store. Exactly what you described is always the problem that I have with using regular whole wheat flour in most baking. It makes things taste just a little too healthy. This is an excellent idea to remedy that situation!

          On Wed, Mar 12, 2014 at 10:03 AM, Sweet Precision wrote:

          >

          Like

    • I looove Ritz crackers! Like to the point where I have to force myself to put the package down before I devour the entire thing!

      When I made my first batch I rolled the dough thicker and didn’t bake for quite long enough, the result was a more biscuit-like cracker. But once I got the dough rolled thin enough and added a few extra minutes onto the cooking time, they were just as sturdy as the store bought brand! Matt said the crackers made it into his top ten favorites!

      Like

  6. What do you think….any way I could make these with less butter? I love crackers and these look and sound wonderful. I love having a slightly salty treat at hand and I, too, like to be able to pronounce all the ingredients.

    Like

    • Hmmm… I don’t know about that one! I think you need the butter for the overall taste of the crackers. However, my recipe made a BUNCH of crackers so you could use them as a special treat and eat sparingly. Or perhaps even substitute in olive oil for the butter??

      Like

  7. I’ve made homemade cheezits before, and they came out great. You have NO idea how excited I am to try making homemade ritz crackers!!!!!! :) Thank you so much for sharing the recipe. I’m home sick today and was looking at the ingredients listed on my ritz crackers (the only thing I can currently eat), and I am not too happy with that ingredient list. At least if I made my own, I would know what was going into my cracker!!

    Like

    • Oh yummy, I never even thought of trying homemade cheezits, that sounds delicious! It so surprising and disheartening when you look at an ingredient list and don’t know what over half of the items are. Even if it takes a little more time to make these, it’s totally worth it knowing what you’re putting into your body!

      Like

  8. They’re better than Ritz. I got tired of paying 2.50 to 3.00 for Ritz. I have repeatedly had to call their company to ask for replacement coupons because they are too burned, or too much salt on top… Sometimes there are 28 in a wrapped row, sometimes 32… Sometimes a few crackers are lying smashed and crumbled alongside the row. They seem to have quality control problems. I make my own bread, and it’s nice to have delicate crackers so easy and cheap where I can control how golden or salty they are. Thank you!

    Like

    • I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed the recipe! It’s been a long time since I’ve purchased a box of Ritz crackers and I don’t think I will be anytime soon ;) I’d love to start making some of my own bread. The store bought kind is so tasteless and packed full of preservatives.

      >

      Like

Leave a Reply

