Homemade Caramels

Publication1

Everything is better homemade, wouldn’t you agree?

This month I’ve decided to take the concept that everything is better homemade and turn it into a four-part baking series. My plan is to make homemade versions of candies and snacks that you would typically buy at the grocery store. I’ve had this idea bouncing around in my head for a while now, and decided there was no better time to share it with you than this month! I think you’ll enjoy all the recipes in this baking challenge for the simple reason that it’s fun to put your own personal twist on a classic item.

For the first installment this week, I’ll be showing you how to make homemade caramels. I love making (and eating) homemade candy throughout the holidays. In fact, this year I made these caramels as Christmas gifts for some of my friends and family. One kitchen item you definitely want to invest in when making these caramels is a good candy thermometer. If you’re trying to use a standard meat thermometer you’ll have problems. With a good thermometer and a little patience, these candies are a cinch to make and will turn out 100 times better than what you could buy at the store.

Homemade Caramels Recipe
Makes 4 to 5 dozen caramels
Adapted from Allrecipes

IMG_4924

Ingredients
2 cups white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup corn syrup
1 cup evaporated milk
1 pint heavy whipping cream
1 cup butter
1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions
Grease a 12×15 inch pan. In a medium-size pot, combine sugar, brown sugar, corn syrup, evaporated milk, whipping cream, and butter. Monitor the heat of the mixture with a candy thermometer while stirring. When the thermometer reaches 250 degrees F (120 degrees C) remove the pot from the heat.

Stir in vanilla. Transfer mixture to the prepared pan and let the mixture cool completely. When cooled cut the Carmel into small squares and wrap them in wax paper for storage.

IMG_4919

Heather’s Helpful Hints
When cooking the caramels use a large pot because the mixture actually triples in size during the cooking phase. Also note that it will take from 30 to 40 minutes to get the caramel to 250 degrees—be patient!

IMG_4915

22 thoughts on “Homemade Caramels

  1. Hi Heather!

     

    What a treat to see this new post.  As I was one of the proud recipients of your homemade morsels, I want to thank you again for your  generous gift.  These c armel’s were absolutely delicious — thank you so much again young lady!

    Much love,

    Nancy and Jeff

    Like

  2. Oh Heather, I absolutely love caramel, and homemade is even better! I’m really looking forward to your series, what a wonderful idea. I wanted to let you know also that sadly I can’t get the Vita Muffin Mix here. My son is coming over to the States though in March so I will ask him to bring some home with me :-)

    Like

  3. WoW!!! What a great project Heather! To be honest with you, I didn’t know candy thermometers even existed. Maybe because I don’t have a tooth sweet and I never eat candies. Those look great, though!!! Even the presentation is so pretty!!! Whoever received them as a gift is a lucky human being! :-)

    Like

    • Thank you Francesca! I wish every day that I didn’t have a sweet tooth, I’m completely envious. I don’t use my candy thermometer as much as I’d like to, but it’s fun to try my hand at some candy-making now and again. I’d love to try and make lollipops sometime!

      Like

  4. OH YES YUM. I am still enjoying the Christmas Caramels. Such a treat I don’t want them to be gone so I am making them last as long as possible. I applaud this new series. A great idea, Heather. Homemade need not be hard and can be so much healthier and taylor made for individual needs.

    Like

  5. I’m hoping it sets. It looks really runny. Like it’s not going to get thick. I make caramel all the time. This doesn’t look right. Too much liquid? 3 cups!

    Like

Leave a Reply

