100 Calorie Chocolate Muffins

photo (1)

Are you the type of person that can’t resist when a moist piece of chocolate cake is staring you right in the eye?

Welcome to my world.

Having a baking blog comes with its own set of health risks. If I make a strawberry cake for my blog, that very same cake sits in my kitchen for a week until I have finished it off—with Matt’s help of course. This is why I always try to have friends or coworkers that I can pawn my baked goods off on, lest my waistline be spared a few hundred calories. But more often than not, I find a reason to keep [insert name of delicious baked good] in the apartment for a few days so that I can enjoy it. The result is my eating way more than I intended. In this post, I’m sharing one of my best kept secrets.

What would you do if I would you there was a muffin that was only 100 calories that also tasted delicious?!

I’m not pulling on your heart strings. I was introduced to the world of Vita-Muffins about a year ago, and I became hooked. When I found out they had their own package mix that you can buy off of Amazon, I knew I’d died and gone to heaven. Now this post is hardly meant to be a promotional product review, but that’s sort of what it has become. By just adding egg whites and water you instantly have 12 portion sized muffins that you can store in the freezer for the moment that you need a chocolate fix. These muffins are a lifesaver for me. No they aren’t as tasty as a samoa cookie, but they still do a pretty good job of satisfying my sweet tooth.

100 Calorie Chocolate Muffins

photo (2)

Ingredients
1 package Vita Muffin mix
3 large egg whites
1 1/4 cup water
1/4 cup walnuts or chocolate chips

Directions
Preheat the oven to 400 F. Line a standard 12 cup muffin pan with paper or aluminum baking cups. Combine VitaMuffin Mix with egg whites and water. Blend well. Scoop about 3 tablespoons of batter into each baking cup. For topping, evenly distribute 1/4 cup of chocolate chips. Bake for 23-27 minutes, or until firm.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
These are so foolproof I feel guilty offering any advice. Just be careful not to over-mix the batter or it will become tough.

18 thoughts on “100 Calorie Chocolate Muffins

  1. I usually just freeze most of my things that I bake, that way they don’t get all eaten right away! Of course, we have a crowd so I’m usually doubling my recipes so they would last at least a little while :) Your muffins look like a great mini chocolate fix!

    Like

    • I would love to cook for a bigger crowd! It was the worst when I lived all alone because then I was the only person eating my desserts! Freezing is a great option too. I have some leftover cookie dough from Christmas that I have to put to good use.

      >

      Like

  2. I wonder if I can get VitaMuffin mix here in England? These muffins would be a dream come true for us if so. In fact, I’m going to take a look on Amazon and see and then definitely try this recipe if so. Great idea that you can freeze them too! Thanks Heather for this marvellous idea, as I’ve never heard of it :-)

    Like

    • I hope that you can get them delivered from Amazon Sherri! I was somewhat skeptical at first but nowadays I absolutely love them! I like to have a little something chocolate every day so in the evenings I’ll pop one in the microwave and eat it for dessert. It’s a great treat :) You’ll have to let me know if you can find them!

      Like

  3. MORE MUFFINS! Heather, how you tempt me and now with one that practically makes itself and leaves sO few calories that you hardly have to worry about them! THANKS

    Like

    • You actually tried these when you came to visit me! It’s the same brand and mix as the frozen muffin tops if you remember?! I finally found the mix on Amazon which is much more affordable. The only difference is that these are muffin shaped :)

      >

      Like

  4. I know exactly what you mean because when I bake a cake ‘for the blog’ I often end up eating most of it myself! And that is most definitely no5 good for my waistline. I didn’t know that one calorie chocolate muffins existed, so it’s good to hear that they do. ;)

    Like

  5. Yummy!

    Yep, I’m the one who can’t resist chocolate.

    I’ve taken care of the “eat-it-all-up” syndrome by giving most of it away. Dale Carnegie was wrong about what wins friends and influences people. It’s baked goods that sway the world in your favor. ;)

    Like

Leave a Reply

