Oven Baked Cheese Crackers

IMG_5325

The hustle and bustle of the holiday season has finally settled down and I found that for once I had absolutely nothing that had to be accomplished this past weekend. It was a great feeling. Usually when I have a little extra time on my hands I like to come up with something new to bake.

Matt and I have some healthy eating goals for the New Year so I figured that I would try and get off to a good start this last week. I made some cabbage soup for lunch but I knew that wouldn’t be enough to keep me full throughout the afternoon. I decided that crackers would be a nice addition to much on. It can be fun to make a homemade version of a common snack because then you actually know what you’re eating. I’ve never been overly concerned about ingredients or food additives over the years. But who really needs disodium diphosphate and glucose syrup in their afternoon crackers?!

These crackers are so easy to make. They would be perfect served at a party, packed as a travel snack, or simply eaten while you’re lounging on the sofa.

Cheese Crackers Recipe
Makes approximately 3 dozen

IMG_5334

Ingredients
3/4 cup flour
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon pepper
1/4 cup cheddar cheese
1/4 cup goat cheese
4 tablespoons cold butter
1/3 cup half and half

Directions
In the bowl of a food processor combine all ingredients but half and half. Pulse to combine. As the food processor is running pour in the half and half in a steady stream. Remove dough from bowl and roll out on a floured surface. Roll so dough is about 1/2 inch thick. Use a pizza cutter to cut dough into small squares and pierce with a fork to create holes. Bake at 400°F for 12 minutes. The crackers will slightly puff as they bake. Remove from the oven when the edges are golden brown and crispy looking. Store in an air tight container for up to a week.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
For additional flavor, brush crackers with a little olive oil and sprinkle with a spice of your choice before baking. I used a little paprika for some added flavor.

IMG_5357

14 thoughts on “Oven Baked Cheese Crackers

  1. Heather, I’m reading this close to lunch time and I can tell you I could eat the entire plateful of these delicious-looking crackers! I’ve never thought of making my own crackers, a wonderful idea. Writing the recipe down now as I know that we will all enjoy these, thanks so much :-)

    Like

    • Thank you Sherri! I had never though of the idea until I happened upon a recipe on a blog that I was reading one day. It seemed to easy to be true and it was! The part I like the most is how easy it is to customize a batch to your preferences :)

      Like

  2. These look delicious and what a great idea to make your own crackers thus eliminating ‘mystery’ ingredients. Is there a way to make these crackers with no cheese? I like the idea of being able to top the crackers with my favorite spices. What a fun adventure.

    Like

  3. Wow Heather! Bravo! Your crackers are so perfect they look store bought! You are right: we don’t need all that stuff in our crackers. I have to give your recipe a try as soon as my life is back to normal! :-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

