Chocolate Covered Rice Krispies

IMG_2726

There has been a major heat wave in DC this week. One day, I woke up and the temperature was already 85 degrees. When it gets unbearably hot outside, two things happen to me. First, I become incredibly lazy. If walking to work at 8 in the morning has me breaking out in a full sweat, I consider that to be my workout for the day. Secondly, I do everything I can to minimize my time outdoors. If this means walking to the bus stop and taking it three blocks to the metro—I do so without even batting an eyelash.

Suffice it to say, I really don’t fare well with the heat. Growing up in Minnesota, our summers would have the occasional 90 degree day—but nothing like the heat and humidity of the south. This is the kind of weather that makes you want to run through a sprinkler or jump into a pool just to get some relief.

With all of this being said, you can imagine that the absolute last thing I want to do during this heat wave is turn on my oven. For a baker this seriously limits the options available for dessert making. However, I’ve come up with the perfect idea for a summer dessert that doesn’t require you to touch the oven knob. These rice krispie treats are made a little more fantastic by dipping them in chocolate and using cookies cutters to make a custom shape. As an added bonus, these treats are very portable—perfect for a summer picnic. I even sent mine in the mail to my friend Danielle as a thank you for some cookie cutters she gave me.

Chocolate Covered Rice Krispies Recipe

IMG_2745

Ingredients
3 tablespoons butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 bag marshmallows (10 ounces)
6 cups rice krispies cereal
1 cup milk chocolate chips
1 cup white chocolate chips
Sprinkles for garnish
Cookie cutter of your desired shape

Instructions
Melt butter over low heat in a large pot. Once melted stir in vanilla and add marshmallows. Continue stirring until marshmallows are completely melted. Remove from heat. Add in rice krispies cereal and stir until well coated. Butter your hands and press mixture into an 13×9 inch pan. Once cooled, use a cookie cutter to cut bars into your desired shape.

In a small bowl, melt chocolate chips in a double boiler over low heat. Dip rice krispie treats in chocolate, shaking off excess chocolate, and set on wax paper. While chocolate is still melted, add sprinkles to the top. Repeat the same process with your white chocolate chips. Once cool, enjoy or store in a plastic container.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
If you find that your chocolate isn’t melting evenly, try adding about 1 teaspoon of vegetable shortening until it becomes smooth.

IMG_2735

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Rice Krispies

  1. These look absolutelly nummy and I love your background-full-of-colorful-squares. Great summertime post. I’ll bet Danielle will especially like it!

    Like

  2. Chocolate rice krispies? Count me in! Great recipe, Heather, and very nice star shape! :-)
    And, I hear you regarding hot weather: I don’t like it either, especially if it’s hot and sticky…

    Like

  3. Oh gosh, Heather! Only you could have come up with a sweet treat which does not require the use of the oven!!! I call this “creativity”! They look great and perfect for the summer time. :-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

