Strawberry Banana Oat Smoothie

IMG_2360

It’s truly a rare occasion when this happens, but this weekend I found myself NOT craving anything sweet (insert shocked gasp). I blame this partially on my experimenting in the kitchen last week trying to come up with the perfect dessert for my baking competition at work. You can only “test” so many cupcakes in a batch… go figure. Needless to say, I found myself wanting something more on the healthy side when I woke up on Sunday morning.

Typically my breakfast staple is a bowl of oatmeal with brown sugar and a banana. But on the weekends I like to mix it up to keep things exciting. Using my oatmeal and banana combo as inspiration, I added in some strawberries, soy milk, and flavorings to make a nutritious and flavor packed breakfast. It would even make a great afternoon snack! So enjoy this reprieve from the cookies, cupcakes, bread, and cake—but don’t worry I’ll be posting my cupcake recipe for the dessert competition next week!

Strawberry Banana Oat Smoothie Recipe

IMG_2365

Ingredients
1 cup soy milk
1/2 cup rolled oats
1 banana, frozen and cut into chunks
14 frozen strawberries
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoons white sugar

Directions
In a blender, combine soy milk, oats, banana and strawberries. Add vanilla and sugar if desired. Blend until smooth. Pour into glasses and serve.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Why frozen strawberries and bananas you ask? If you use frozen fruit in a smoothie, it will stay colder and be thicker than if your fruit was warm. Large fruits (like bananas or melons) should be chopped into pieces before freezing. Spread the pieces on a plate or baking sheet while in the freezer. That way they won’t freeze into one big lump. Once frozen, then you can store them together in a freezer bag or container.

IMG_2353

13 thoughts on “Strawberry Banana Oat Smoothie

  1. With 90 degrees forecast for tomorrow this sounds like just the refreshing treat AND with strawberries on sale at my neighborhood grocery store and banana’s always on hand, I will have to give this one a try, though I do not have such a fancy black straw.

    Like

    • Well lucky you with your warm weather! It’s actually cooling off here if you can believe it. The smoothie is quite delicious though, you must tell me how it turns out if you make it!

      On May 13, 2013, at 2:42 PM, Sweet Precisi

      Like

Leave a Reply

