Triple Salted Caramel Cupcakes

IMG_2276

I dedicated an afternoon last weekend to working on these little cupcakes. It was a labor of love one might say. I like recipes that have several steps that you need to coordinate in order for the finished product to come together. These cupcakes definitely fit the bill. Be sure you set aside a few hours if you want to make these little morsels!

This recipe was my first attempt at making caramel. In fact, to make this recipe you actually end up making caramel three times. Considering that one of my batches didn’t work out and I had to try again a fourth time—I consider myself somewhat of a caramel expert. During this process I gained a new appreciation for quality cookware that has an even cooking temperature. For my first attempt I used a Calphalon pot which is definitely quality cookware, but I had some trouble regulating the heat which resulted in my burnt caramel. For my second attempt, I used my All-Clad pot and there was a noticeable difference in the evenness of the temperature. It’s the first time when I’ve noticed a difference in this quality cookware. When you’re making pasta you might not notice the difference in a quality pan, but in certain circumstances, they definitely do make a difference. (Yes dad, you were right…and thank you for the All-Clad pan—it has now been used for more than pasta and rice.)

Triple Salted Caramel Cupcakes Recipe
Originally from Sprinkle Bakes

IMG_2297

Cupcake Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 stick of unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk

Salted Caramel Filling Ingredients
1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons salted butter cubed
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoons heavy cream, at room temperature

Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Ingredients
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons water
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 stick salted butter
1 stick unsalted butter
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Candied Salted Caramel Rounds Ingredients
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
3/4 cup water
2-4 tablespoons of large-crystal sugar

Directions
For detailed instructions, see the original recipe at Sprinkle Bakes.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
If you’ve never made caramel before let me offer a few tips. Use the heaviest gauge metal pot you have. Inexpensive or thin cookware heats unevenly, so drag out the most solid pot you’ve got. If you burn caramel, there’s not much you can do but toss it. It’s impossible to hide the taste of something burnt—so don’t even think about it. The best thing to do is to add more water to the pan and let it simmer, which will release the caramel and make the pan easier to clean. Not that this has ever happened to me… ;) 

IMG_2302

18 thoughts on “Triple Salted Caramel Cupcakes

  1. OMG, Heather! This is a caramel triumph! ;-) They look gorgeous, the colors are so vibrant and the pictures are great. I agree with Stefano: totally competition worthy. I pity your competitors. They might not know yet but they are hopeless. ;-) I wish you the best of luck!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Italian Cream Cupcakes with Lemon Curd Filling and Lemon Buttercream | Sweet Precision

  3. How is this recipe adapted? When I compared it with Sprinkle Bakes’ website it looks like you just copied and pasted the whole recipe and directions. That is stealing, not adapting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

