Spiced Skillet Bananas with Greek Yogurt

IMG_2079

If you could be someone else for a day, who would you choose to be?

I puzzled over this question for awhile before the obvious answer dawned upon me. As a dancer, I decided I would want to be a young Judith Jamison. If you’re scratching your head wondering who this is, let me explain. Judith Jamison was a principal dancer with Alvin Ailey Dance Theater who later went on to be the artistic director for 20 plus years. She was an absolutely mesmerizing dancer. You can watch clips of her performances and choreography on YouTube and you’ll see exactly what I mean. If I could have one day to be someone, I’d want to have her skills and talent—if only for 24 hours. Speaking of dancing, it’s been much too long since I’ve been to a dance class. Somehow life has been busy and kept me away from the studio (or maybe I’ve been a little lazy too). This week I’ve decided to rectify this problem and I’m going to take a jazz and hip hop class after work one night. I might not be Judith Jamison, but it will feel good to stretch and move like a dancer again.

For my baking adventure this weekend I decided to keep things light. I didn’t feel like baking cookies or cake, and instead opted for a healthy option that you can pull together in seconds. It’s sort of a take on Bananas Foster—except without the rum and banana liqueur. I promise you’ll still enjoy it. I wanted something that I could use to showcase the new dishes I scavenged for at a fun shop called Miss Pixie’s in my neighborhood. Enjoy!

Spiced Skillet Bananas with Greek Yogurt

IMG_2075

Ingredients
1 tablespoon margarine
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
2 cups sliced bananas
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups fat free vanilla Greek yogurt
1/4 cup walnuts (optional)

Directions
In a large nonstick skillet, melt the margarine over medium-high heat. Add the brown sugar, stirring until the mixture is bubbly and the sugar is dissolved.

Add the bananas, gently stirring to coat. Cook for 3 minutes, or until just softened and beginning to glaze and turn golden. Don’t overcook, or the bananas will break down. Remove the skillet from the heat. Gently stir in the flavoring.

Spoon the banana mixture over the Greek yogurt. Garnish will walnuts if desired. Serve immediately.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
For another variation on this recipe replace the bananas with thinly sliced peeled apples. Add some apple pie spice and cook for 6-8 minutes or until the apples are just tender.

IMG_2091

8 thoughts on “Spiced Skillet Bananas with Greek Yogurt

  1. I think I have actually heard of her! ….because I took a jazz dance class a couple semesters ago :) Not sure who I would be for a day…anyways, this dish looks scrumptious!

    Like

  2. Well. Have you taken your dance class yet this week? What fun for you to get back into the studio. You can then come home and have a most delicious and healthy snack.

    Like

Leave a Reply

