Peanut Butter Fudge

IMG_1435

It seems that musicals are becoming popular again with the success of movies such as Les Miserables and TV shows like Glee. This week I was pondering what my life would be like as a musical. Maybe it would be some type of mash-up between Chicago and Fosse—just without all the murders. But since I don’t have my own musical director or a set production crew, this exercise seemed limited to the afternoon wanderings of my mind. That is until I came up with the idea to create the musical soundtrack to my week by selecting 5 songs that I felt captured the comings and goings of my activities. So without further ado, I present the soundtrack to my week.

1. Monday: At the End of the Day, Les Miserables
2. Tuesday: Mister Cellophane, Chicago
3. Wednesday: Razzle Dazzle, Fosse
4. Thursday: A Spoonful of Sugar, Marry Poppins
5. Friday: I’ll Cover You, RENT

So where does baking fit into this post? Well since I’ve had a whirlwind of activity lately, I selected the easiest recipe that I could come up with for you! It’s only 4 ingredients, and if you’re efficient, the entire thing could be finished in 10 minutes. What on earth could be so simple? Peanut Butter fudge I tell you. I made this recipe when I was staying with Matt for the weekend and hid some of the extra in the freezer (since he has no self control when it comes to peanut butter). But shhhh… don’t tell him it’s there!

Peanut Butter Fudge
Adapted from Alton Brown

IMG_1431

Ingredients
8 ounces unsalted butter, plus more for greasing pan
1 cup smooth peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 pound powdered sugar

Directions
Combine the butter and peanut butter in a 4-quart microwave-safe bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Microwave for 2 minutes on high. Stir and microwave on high for 2 more minutes. Add the vanilla and powdered sugar to the peanut butter mixture and stir to combine with a wooden spoon. The mixture will become hard to stir and lose its sheen. Spread into a buttered 8 by 8-inch pan lined with parchment paper. Fold the excess parchment paper so it covers the surface of the fudge and refrigerate until cool, about 2 hours. Cut into 1-inch pieces and store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a week.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Measuring peanut butter can quickly turn into a gooey mess as you try to scrape everything out of the measuring cup without leaving anything behind. To make this process easier, spray your measuring cup with cooking spray before adding the peanut butter. Then when you’re finished, it should slide out of the cup with no mess at all!

IMG_1406

15 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Fudge

  1. Ohhhh yum. I just flicked over to your blog after reading a comment you wrote on Spontaenous Tomato’s lemon lime bars…and now I’m in a quandary over which recipe to make first. I LOVE citrus, but peanut butter isn’t far behind and this is such a quick recipe.

    Like

    • Oh that’s a tricky one! The weather has been so nice in DC lately that something lemon lime flavored definitely sounds refreshing and delicious! But this peanut butter fudge is so easy to make. Clearly the answer is to make BOTH!! :)

      Like

  2. Whoa, this looks amazing. I’m not even that in love with peanut butter compared to most people, but I think peanut butter fudge is my favorite kind– it just brings back memories of when I was a kid (even though even as a kid I probably got to eat fudge about once every two or three years…). This recipe seems so simple too– only four ingredients?! I’m bookmarking it for sure!

    Like

    • The four ingredients is what won me over :) Since I was staying with Matt I wanted something easy where I wouldn’t have to buy too many things at the grocery store! I feel like it would be fun to make with little kids- it’s so simple!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

