Birthday Cake

IMG_0020 (2)

Something special happened last week, but I didn’t have time to share it with you right away. Last week was… (drumroll please) my birthday! I realize this notice comes late, but that doesn’t mean you can’t still celebrate with me. I’ve still got some birthday cake left (at least what I haven’t devoured yet) and I’m going to share the delicious and simple recipe with you so you can bake some too!

I had a bonus birthday surprise last weekend when my friend Danielle flew into DC to surprise me for my birthday! She conspired with my boyfriend Matt to surprise me at the airport—I had absolutely no idea she was coming! We had a wonderful weekend filled with sightseeing, a comedy show, brunch, a visit to Home Depot (to get tools to mount my spice rack to the wall), and of course—a wonderful baking adventure.

This strawberry cake has been a birthday tradition of mine for several years. My mom has made this cake for as long as I can remember and it’s always been a favorite of mine. Remember that picture of me frosting a cake as a little kid? Yep, that’s me making this strawberry cake. This year I requested the recipe from my mom so I could try and make it myself!

Strawberry Layer CakeIMG_0011 (2)

Cake Ingredients
1 box white cake mix
1 (6 oz) box strawberry jello
4 eggs
3 tablespoons flour
3/4 cup oil
3/4 cup frozen strawberries
1/2 cup water

Frosting Ingredients
1 (16 oz) box confectioners sugar
1/4 cup frozen strawberries
1/2 cup butter

Directions
Position a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour two 9 inch round baking pans and set aside.

Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl and set aside. In a medium bowl, mix wet ingredients together, including strawberries. Slowly stir wet ingredients in with the dry being careful not to over mix the batter. Pour batter into baking rounds and bake in the oven and bake for approximately 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Allow cake to cool in the pan and then invert onto a baking rack to cool completely before frosting.

For frosting, cream together butter and powdered sugar using an electric mixer. Make sure butter is at room temperature prior to mixing. At very end, add strawberries and blend until well mixed.

IMG_0069

Heather’s Helpful Hints
I’ve found that often frosting recipes end up making way more than you need for a recipe. To store frosting, refrigerate in an airtight container for up to two weeks. Before using, just be sure to quickly re-whip the frosting to restore its original consistency.

16 thoughts on “Birthday Cake

  1. Hmmm. It looks so delicious. I may have to make it for Easter and decorate it with Jelly Beans. I always looked forward to your birthday cake, too. Such a Sweet treat for a Sweet lady.

    Like

  2. Heather I love this cake. I remember it sitting in our college fridge for like a week cuz your mom made such a big batch. It was soooooo flippin delish. Hope you are well. I figured since I am behind the times we could celebrate our birthdays together in April this year? How does that sound? Love you lots miss you!

    Like

    • Oh my goodness, I know exactly what you mean Amanda!! I myself am wanting a piece as I type this email. And YES, I agree that a joint birthday celebration is definitely in order. I miss you lots little lady… it’s been much too long.

      Like

Leave a Reply

