Cappuccino Cookies

IMG_1118If you had to describe your relationship with your cell phone, what label would you use? If you asked me this question 4 months ago, I would have responded that my cell phone was a minor nuisance in my life—something that I used only when I needed to talk or text with someone. I proudly sported my stylish sliding phone, but I would have labeled our relationship as pretty low maintenance.

Flash forward to March, and today I would respond telling you that my cell phone is an integral part of my life. Our relationship started out slowly but has blossomed into something so serious I don’t think I could live without it… seriously. If it went missing, I would have a serious problem. Why the sudden change in heart? Well, I turned in my sliding phone for an iPhone 5 and I’ve become somewhat attached. I used to laugh at the people seemingly glued to their phones, but now the joke is on me because I’ve become one of them.

I wake up in the morning and check both my work and regular email on my phone. I check what the weather looks like for the day. I see if any of my friends have played me on Words with Friends. All this before I’m even out the door. Once I’m on the move and walking to the metro, I call my boyfriend to say good morning. Even when I’m on the metro I have an app where I read my Bible verses for the day (my New Year’s resolution is to read the entire Bible in a year). At work the onslaught on technology continues as I text throughout the day. And a similar pattern ensues on my way home.

It’s scary to me what a change can happen in such a short period of time. Technology is great and brings all sorts of convenience into our lives—but at the expense of what? When you’re out to dinner with a friend and feel that all too familiar buzz, do you really need to take that glimpse at your phone? Probably not.

In fact, even the pictures for my post on cappuccino cookies today were taken with my iPhone. It was a rude awakening when I realized that the camera on my phone was better than my trusty digital camera. Okay, I hear you—enough about my steamy relationship with my cell phone and onto the delicious cookies that I made this past week. I first tried this recipe from Joy the Baker last summer and immediately got addicted. Since then, I’ve made them 4 times! I’m not even a coffee drinker, but somehow everything aligns perfectly from the espresso granules to the white chocolate to make these an addictive treat to add to your repertoire.

Cappuccino Cookies
Adapted from Joy the Baker

IMG_1152

Ingredients
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons instant espresso
1 cup white chocolate chunks

Directions
Place racks in the center and upper third of the oven and line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Set aside and we’ll preheat the oven after we chill the dough.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt and instant espresso powder. In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 3 to 5 minutes. Add the egg and egg yolk and beat on medium speed until mixture is fluffy, about 1 to 2 minutes. Beat in the vanilla extract. Add the dry ingredients, all at once to the butter mixture and beat on low speed until just combined. Add the chocolate chunks and fold together with a spatula until well combined. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 45 minutes.

Just before you’re ready to bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Scoop cookie dough by the heaping tablespoonful onto the prepared baking pans. Bake for about 12 minutes, until lightly browned around the edges. Remove from the oven, allow to cool on the baking sheet for about 10 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
If you want the espresso powder to dissolve into your cookies, look for one that is crushed finer. However, if you like the idea of having little bits of coffee in your cookies, try to find a slightly chunkier instant powder.

11 thoughts on “Cappuccino Cookies

  1. Mmm, espresso and white chocolate sounds heavenly.

    P.S. Welcome to the world of iPhones. :) Soooo many apps to keep you busy for the foreseeable future!

    Like

  2. Considering that I just ate the 5th of five Cappuccino Cookies that you sent to dad and I (which I promptly froze so I wouldn’t eat them all at once) I can attest not only to their superior flavor but the fact that they freeze well….and thaw out QUICKLY. Tell me more about this espresso powder.

    Like

  3. These cookies look beyond amazing! I was the same way when I had a barely-smart slider phone, but now that I have an iphone, I am on it ALL the time! I can’t believe the iphone 5 has such good photo quality!

    Like

  4. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it ;) I may
    revisit yet again since i have bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and
    continue to help others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

