Marshmallow Fondant

IMG_1531

As this picture suggests, something very special happened this weekend. I made my very first fondant cake! Let it be known that this was not something I accomplished by myself. I actually completed this St. Patty’s Day inspired dessert in my very first cake decorating class. Kudos to Matt for a wonderful Christmas present! If you’re in the area, I would highly recommend checking out L’Academie de Cuisine in Bethesda, Maryland. Their class schedule is online, and I had a wonderful instructor who had plenty of time to give individual help given the small size of the class.

The class provided cakes in advance, and we focused solely on making the fondant and decorating our cakes in the allotted 2.5 hours. Fondant can definitely be tricky to work with. I wanted to take this class because last time I used fondant to cover some vanilla cupcakes, it was a process that took me several hours in the kitchen. Our instructor actually introduced us to a marshmallow fondant recipe which I found to be a hundred times better. Not only is it easier to make (anyone that has made Rice Krispies can melt marshmallows) but it also tastes so much better! I’ve never been a big fan on the way fondant tastes, but using marshmallows definitely kicks it up a notch.

Marshmallow Fondant

Ingredients
1 pound mini marshmallows
2 pounds 10x confectioner’s sugar
2 tsp flavorings (vanilla, orange, peppermint, etc.)
4 tablespoons water
1/4 cup vegetable shortening for coating hands an bowl
equal parts confectioner’s sugar and cornstartch for dusting

Directions
Place confectioner’s sugar into one mixing bowl,  and set aside.

Use some of the vegetable shortening to coat the inside of a large bowl. Add marshmallows to the coated bowl. Add your flavorings and 4 tablespoons of water. Place this bowl over a double boiler with 1 inch of simmering water. Stir the marshmallows until they have all melted.

Once the marshmallows have completely melted, add this mixture to the bowl with the confectioner’s sugar. Mix this on low speed (or by hand) until a “dough” is formed. Rub your work surface and hands with some of the vegetable shortening. Turn the dough out onto your prepped surface. Incorporate any crumbled mixture left in the bowl into the dough. Knead the dough until it is smooth. Only dust the surface with a bit of the cornstarch mixture if the dough is too sticky.

Mix in the coloring at this point. Coat your hands with vegetable shortening to keep the color off of them. Once the color is incorporated  wrap in plastic wrap and let fondant rest at room temperature for 20-30 minutes. After the 20-30 minutes have passed, use the fondant as needed. If the fondant is to cold to knead, heat in the microwave for 15-20 seconds and test. Repeat if necessary.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
To store fondant, wrap tightly in plastic wrap and then place this inside a resealable freezer bag. Remove as much air from the bag as possible. Fondant will keep for 6 months at room temperature.

IMG_1580

20 thoughts on “Marshmallow Fondant

  1. Your cake looks marvelous. Glad you had such fun at your Gift Class. Nice to know that one can make a fondant that not only looks but tastes good, too.

    Like

  2. Omg, Heather! I’m SO excited to read this post. First of all, let me say that your cake looks amazing! I love the colors and the design – kudos to you. :) Secondly, I just signed up for the Wilton Course III Cake Decorating Class (fondant & gum paste) at my local Michael’s and the first class is this Thursday. I’ve NEVER worked with fondant before so it should definitely be interesting. I’m glad your experience went so well and I’m definitely pinning your fondant recipe for future use.

    P.S. Yay Matt for an awesome Christmas present!

    Like

    • Oh my goodness, we must be on the same wavelength LOL! I was totally intimidated by fondant so it was a great introduction to working with it.. I was laughing at myself yesterday because my forearms were sore from kneading the “dough” ;) I can’t wait to hear how your class goes. I’m not really familiar with gum paste so I look forward to hearing more about it!!

      Like

    • I felt the exact same way! Another nice thing we learned is that you can make a big batch and store it for up to 6 months. That way you can eliminate the hassle of having to make it each time you bake a cake!

      Like

  3. Your pictures are always so beautiful! And the cake, let me say it is BEAUTIFUL! I myself want to take classes so I can really get into cake decorating techniques. I love that you post this and I hope we get to see more beautiful cake posts from you!

    Like

  4. Oh goodness, thank you! I was inspired to take some more classes afterwards- I feel like there’s so much to learn when it comes to cake decorating! When it comes to trying to write something using frosting, my letters look like a mess ;)

    Like

    • Thank you! I had a moment of panic at the beginning of the class when the teacher asked what our inspiration would be! I had NO idea so I had to come up with something quick. I figured St. Patty’s day wasn’t too far away ;)

      Like

  5. This is awesome!!! I’ve always wondered how fondant is made. I can’t believe there is no actual added fat IN the fondant, but you have to use a quarter cup of shortening to grease your hands!!! Gross!! But beautiful :) What a good looking cake!

    Like

Leave a Reply

