Strawberry Shortcake

IMG_1336

The Oscars are over and some of us are left thinking that our lives are boringly normal when compared with the celebrities and stars on television that live the high life. For today’s post I decided to take a step back and look at my life as an outsider might. As a result, I’m going to share nine unique and exciting star-worthy facts about myself. I might not have as many fans as Jennifer Lawrence or Anne Hatheway, but this post should give you a glimpse into the girl behind the baking blog.

  • I’ve loved to dance my entire life. I took dance classes from kindergarten through 12th grade and in college and grad school. Today I still love to take jazz and ballet classes for adults.
  • The only sport that I enjoy is football… specifically Minnesota Vikings football. A few years ago I started a women’s-only fantasy football league called the First Ladies of Football.
  • I can wiggle my ears.
  • I always heave teary goodbyes to those that I love. Whether it’s for a week or a month, I always have a hard time saying goodbye.
  • I smile… a lot. When I’m feeling down, a smile from a stranger always makes me feel a little better, so I try to keep the karma going around by doing the same for others.
  • I love taking naps, and it’s not unusual for me to schedule my Sunday afternoon to sneak in a 1 hour siesta.
  • I have terrible hand eye coordination and team sports that require this make me nervous. There’s something about playing volleyball or softball that simply makes me want to run for the hills.
  • If I could have a celebrity date with anyone it would probably be Boris Kodjoe, or maybe Channing Tatum.
  • Finally (and this should come as no surprise), I have an absolutely terrible sweet tooth. I want something sweet after every meal I eat. That’s why you should trust me that these strawberry shortcakes below are to die for. It’s a quick and easy recipe to whip up if you have company coming over.

Strawberry Shortcake
IMG_1322

Ingredients
1 quart (4 cups) strawberries, sliced
1/4 cup sugar
2 1/3 cups Original Bisquick mix
1/2 cup milk
3 tablespoons sugar
3 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
½ cup whipping cream

Directions
Heat oven to 425°F. In large bowl, mix strawberries and 1/4 cup sugar; set aside. In medium bowl, stir Bisquick mix, milk, 3 tablespoons sugar and the butter until soft dough forms. On ungreased cookie sheet, drop dough by 6 spoonfuls.

Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown. Meanwhile, in small bowl, beat whipping cream with electric mixer on high speed until soft peaks form. Split warm shortcakes; fill and top with strawberries and whipped cream.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
If strawberries aren’t in season, it’s perfectly acceptable to substitute in frozen strawberries for this recipe.

IMG_1317

33 thoughts on “Strawberry Shortcake

  1. I love the look of these individual shortcakes. Of course they look like biscuits and you know I can’t resist them. Thanks for this new version of an old favorite.

    Like

  2. Looks utterly delicious! This again reminds me of of my cold job where we plated strawberry shortcakes. I always loved plating and making it look pretty, but you made it look magnifique!

    Like

  3. Haha Heather, I have a feeling we would really get along…with my raging sweet tooth and lack of coordination/fear of team sports, we could hide in the kitchen and just bake away together! :)

    Also, since you’re a dancer can I ask you a question? Watching Silver Linings Playbook made me want to get into dance–is that weird? Except I have no dance background at all, save for two years of jazz/tap dance when I was like 7. if I wanted to take dance classes, what kind of dance would you recommend for a 22 yr. old who wants a casual hobby? Like, I’m assuming ballet isn’t the right choice. But I’m not sure what kind of dance you can do casually or where to take classes! Any suggestions??

    Like

    • LOL, I’m always excited to find another baker who has a healthy fear of organized team sports! That’s probably why I gravitated to dancing for all these years ;)

      Regardless, I think it’s GREAT that you’re interested in trying out a dance class! I feel like a jazz dance class would be perfect for you! There’s definitely more room to have fun and be expressive and there aren’t as many rules as ballet! Lots of studios have drop-in dance classes for adults where each class stands alone and you can decide to go to a class any day. Another option are introduction courses that run for 6-8 weeks and build on each other. That’s a nice way to have a little more structure if that’s what you’re looking for. You have to let me know how your foray into the dancing world goes!!

      Like

      • That sounds awesome! I’m also a little scared of modern dance, so even though you say jazz has some room for expression, it sounds slightly more structured to me, so sounds like a perfect option. And I will have to look up some intro courses–thanks so much for the encouragement and ideas!! :)

        Like

Leave a Reply

