Baked Mozzarella Sticks

IMG_0914

Super Bowl Sunday is right around the corner. And whether you are a Baltimore or a San Francisco fan, you’ll most likely be watching the big game. According to an article in the Washington Post, Super Bowl Sunday snacking is hazardous to your waistline (gasp)! Apparently, all the wings, chips, dips, beverages and snacking that goes along with the big game is second only to Thanksgiving in the United States with most food consumed in a 24-hour period.

For those of us with healthy eating New Years resolutions, navigating the snacks at your Super Bowl party might feel like somewhat of a minefield. In an attempt to lighten up one of my favorite appetizers, I went in search of a recipe for “healthy” mozzarella sticks. I was surprised to stumble upon several recipes that had great suggestions on how to slim down these deep fried treats. The recipe I’m sharing manages to do that simply by using reduced fat cheese and baking instead of deep frying. The taste is just as good, if not better, in my opinion. So if you’re looking for a healthier option for munching this Sunday, be sure to give these a try!

Baked Mozzarella Sticks
Adapted from Hungry Girl
IMG_0912

Ingredients
12 sticks part-skim, reduced sodium mozzarella string cheese
1 large egg, beaten
2 tbsp flour
5 tbsp Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
5 tbsp panko crumbs
1 tbsp dried thyme
olive oil cooking spray

Directions
Cut cheese in half to give you 24 pieces. In small bowl, whisk the egg. Place the flour on another small dish. In separate bowl, combine bread crumbs, panko, and dried thyme. Dip the sticks in flour, shaking off excess, then into the egg, then coat with the crumbs. Repeat this process with the remaining cheese placing them on a tray with wax paper.

When ready to bake preheat oven to 400° F. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and lightly spray with oil. Place cheese sticks on baking sheet. Spray the tops of the mozzarella sticks with a little more oil and bake in the bottom third of your oven until crisp, about 4 to 5 minutes. Turn and bake an additional 4 – 5 minutes watching them closely so they don’t melt.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
When baking your mozzarella sticks, it’s easy for them to melt before the crumbs get golden. To solve this problem, place your cheese in the freezer beforehand. Then, after coating the cheese with flour, egg, and bread crumbs—place the cheese back in the freezer until you are ready to bake.
IMG_0924

16 thoughts on “Baked Mozzarella Sticks

  1. Sorry to disappoint to you, Heather: never watched a Super Bowl and no intention to start anytime soon. I do not even understand the rules of the game. My American friends patiently tried to explain them to me more than once but, after 5 minutes, I just lose interest. On the contrary, your mozzarella sticks reeeally interest me! ;-) I simply adore mozzarella sticks and yours look fabulous. :-)

    Like

    • I completely understand, football is a sport of way too many rules! I doubt that you’ll be missing out on much Sunday :) The only reason I have such a love for the game is because my dad and I used to always to go when I was growing up as a little kid.

      Like

  2. Yum, I love that these are baked, not fried… and that they use panko! I’m going to have to try this one… but I should probably save it for a special occasion, or at least an occasion when there are more than two people in the house to help us eat them! : )

    Like

  3. Well, my friend, we have a snowy weekend coming up. I am on the way to the grocery store today to get what I want for the next few days so I don’t have to go out if I don’t want to. I intend to try these delicious looking treats. I have been putting it off and just can’t wait any longer. I will let you know how they turn out….and how long they last.

    Like

Leave a Reply

