Blackberry Swirl Cheesecake Cupcakes

IMG_0636

With the announcement of the Oscar nominees last week, I came to the realization that there were several movies that I need to see over the next month. With a little extra time on my hands this past weekend; I decided to get a head start on my movie viewing.

I saw Silver Linings Playbook featuring Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence. It’s a great movie about a former teacher (Cooper) that moves back in with his parents after a stint in a mental institution. He meets a mysterious girl (Lawrence) with problems of her own, and a love story ensues. It’s a wonderful tale about how life doesn’t always go according to plan, and how even then, we can still find a silver lining. Like any girl, I’m a sucker for a good love story and this movie definitely fits the bill. If you’re looking for a film where you’ll leave the theater with a good feeling afterwards, I’d definitely recommend this movie.

As we head into Oscar season, stay tuned for some more official movie reviews on Sweet Precision.

Now onto other important things, such as my baking endeavors this past weekend. I decided to bake something that included blackberries for the simple reason that they were 2 for 1 at the grocery store this week. I settled on a cheesecake cupcake recipe that I found online and slightly adapted for the fruit. These really are a cinch to make and are definitely more portable than an actually cheesecake if you’re bringing them to a party.

Blackberry Swirl Cheesecake Cupcakes
IMG_0683

Crust Ingredients
1 1/2 cups finely ground graham crackers
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
3 tablespoons sugar

Filling Ingredients
2 pounds cream cheese, room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
pinch of salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 large eggs, room temperature

Topping Ingredients
1 container (6 ounces) fresh blackberries
2 tablespoons sugar

Directions
Place a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 325 degrees F. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. Stir together ground graham crackers, butter, and 3 tablespoons sugar. Pres 1 tablespoon crust mixture firmly into bottom of each lined cup. Bake until set, about 5 minutes. Transfer tins to a wire rack to cool.

To make the blackberry puree, process blackberries in a blender or food processor. Process until smooth, then pass puree through a fine sieve to remove seeds.

To make the cheesecake, beat the cream cheese on medium-high speed in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy. Blend in the sugar until smooth. Mix in the salt and vanilla. Beat in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

To assemble, spoon 3 tablespoons of the cheesecake batter over the crust in each cupcake liner. Dot a ½ teaspoon of the raspberry puree in a few dots over the cheesecake filling. Use a toothpick or a wooden skewer to lightly swirl and create a marbled effect.

Bake until the filling is set, about 22 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through baking. (They will look quite puffed initially but will return to normal quickly.) Transfer to a wire cooling rack and let cool to room temperature. Transfer to the refrigerator and let chill for at least 4 hours before serving.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
If you’re looking for a down and dirty way to save time in the kitchen making these cupcakes, simply use a vanilla wafer for the crust. Voila, you’re set to go in seconds!

IMG_0675

10 thoughts on “Blackberry Swirl Cheesecake Cupcakes

  1. First, let me tell you that I love your new “hat”… the movie review hat. ;-) I look forward to reading your future reviews since I haven’t seen any of the movies that have been nominated and I’m a huge academy award fan.
    Back to your baking hat, these look amazing. I just told my mom that we’ll try your recipe this week :-)

    Like

  2. Oh, thank you! I hardly consider myself a seasoned critic but I thought it could be a fun way to get into the spirit! Coming next is my take on Life of Pi, which was another feel good movie. There aren’t enough of them out there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

