The Sixth Day of Christmas: Colorful Candy Bar Cookies

IMG_0053

Around the holidays my own personal jukebox operates inside my head. I walk around humming and whistling holiday tunes as they enter my head. When I’m in my apartment, nothing can be completed without some accompanying Christmas music. I bake cookies to Frosty the Snowman, I wash dishes to White Christmas, I fold laundry to We Wish You a Merry Christmas, and I even read my books with Santa Baby in the background. You’re beginning to see my point… everything is accompanied by Christmas music, which mostly comes in the form of my Pandora radio station. This obsession typically begins the day after Thanksgiving and lasts up until the New Year.

Today, I decided I’d share some of my favorite Christmas songs of the moment. I say the moment, because sometimes my favorite songs vary by the day. However, I will admit that I have been obsessively listening to #1 on my list which is Mistletoe by Justin Bieber. I’m a big fan… I must ask for no judgment on this point. But enough talk about JB. Enjoy my top 10 Christmas songs which I present to you on this sixth day of Christmas.

1. Mistletoe- Justin Bieber

2. All I Want for Christmas Is You, Mariah Carey
3. Someday At Christmas, Stevie Wonder
4. Baby It’s Cold Outside, Glee Cast
5. Now Behold the Lamb, Kirk Franklin
6. This Christmas, Donny Hathaway
7. I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas, Gayla Peevey
8. Let It Snow, Boys II Men
9. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, DMX
10. Carol of the Bells, Trans-Siberian Orchestra

I hear you exclaiming… “What about the cookies?!” Well, these sugar cookies pack an extra punch inside them. I figured everybody makes sugar cookies for Christmas, so why not make something a little extra special. That’s exactly what these cookies manage to do. Not only do they have a delicious candy bar surprise in the middle, but they are also coated with festive holiday sprinkles to make them eye-appealing! Enjoy this fun twist on your traditional sugar cookies.

Day Six: Colorful Candy Bar Cookies
Adapted from Taste of HomeIMG_5787

Ingredients
1/2 tube sugar cookie dough, softened (it’s okay to cheat)
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
24 miniature Snickers candy bars
Red and green colored sugar

Directions
Place a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F. In a small bowl, beat cookie dough and flour until combined. Shape 1-1/2 teaspoonfuls of dough around each candy bar. Roll in colored sugar. Place 2 inches apart on parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Bake cookies for 10-12 minutes or until edges are golden brown. Remove to wire racks to cool.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Don’t have miniature candy bars on hand? Instead of using miniature candy bars, slice regular size Snickers candy bars into 1 inch pieces for the centers.

6 thoughts on “The Sixth Day of Christmas: Colorful Candy Bar Cookies

  1. I hear JB has an even better song featuring even better singers who go by BOYZ II MEN. Noticed they weren’t on your list of songs! Very tasty cookies and they held up for over a week!

    Like

  2. Oh, my goodness. These sound so good! I WILL have to give them a try…AND…I had such fun listening to your Christmas music and then about 3 hours of my own as I worked on Christmas Cards. Thank You, Heather.

    Like

Leave a Reply

