The Second Day of Christmas: Chocolate Covered Pretzels

IMG_0040

Something unusual happened in my apartment yesterday. It’s blasphemy actually. I had to turn on the air conditioner… in December. The temperature in DC reached a balmy 72 degrees and my apartment must have been a sizzling 85+ degrees by the afternoon. Now most people might think that is wonderful, but I’m a Minnesotan girl where December is marked by sub zero temperatures and frostbite warnings.

70 degrees and air conditioning does not put me in the holiday spirit. I took a quick walk to the post office over my lunch break and found myself sweating in my jeans and t-shirt. Again… blasphemy. Needless to say, I was not eager to turn on my oven given the circumstances of the day. Instead, I opted to make a no-bake holiday favorite of mine—chocolate covered pretzels. Enjoy these no-fuss treats for the second day of Christmas.

Day 2: White Chocolate Covered PretzelsIMG_5730

Ingredients
1 (12 ounce) papckage white chocolate
2 tablespoons shortening
1 bag of small pretzels
Red and green sprinkles

Directions
Melt chocolate and shortening in double boiler over hot water. Stir until smooth. Using tongs, dip pretzels into chocolate, coating both sides. Place on wax paper lined tray. Immediately apply sprinkles. Refrigerate 1 hour or until set.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Melting chocolate, and especially while chocolate, can be a tricky process. Chocolate scorches easily, making it grainy and ruining the flavor, so care should be taken to melt it slowly, over very low heat. Try removing your chocolate from the double boiler before it has melted completely and stirring it briskly away from the heat. You can always place it back on the stove to melt a few final lumps that remain.

IMG_5737

10 thoughts on “The Second Day of Christmas: Chocolate Covered Pretzels

  1. Yum. Delicious. I do so love a bit of sweet and salt together. Air conditioning in December? You hardly had it on in the summer. It must have been totally uncomfortable…though I must admit with my heavy socks on and a wrap about my shoulders the 80’s sound a bit nice to me.

    Like

    • It was incredibly warm, I don’t know why! My suspicion is that they still had the radiators working so I was getting an extra blast of warmness in my apartment. I’m sure I’ll be wishing for warmer weather when I’m back in Minnesota!

      Like

Leave a Reply

