Apple Peach Pie

Thanksgiving holds a lot of pressure for food bloggers. I’m sure you can relate… we all want our pictures to look like our food just jumped off the page of Martha Stewart’s blog. However, the truth is not always as perfect as we would like to imagine.

Case in point, my Thanksgiving dinner. I had grand plans of photographing the turkey prior to being carved, getting a spread of all the food on the table, and taking a mouthwatering picture of my plate before I began eating. The truth? I was a sweaty mess laboring away in my kitchen working to simply ensure that everything came together relatively around the same time. Fancy pictures you ask? Ha. This is what Thanksgiving looked like in my apartment.

But the picture tells you everything you might want to know. My guests loved their food (reference empty plates), the turkey came out just fine (trust me), and I managed not to burn anything (again, trust is crucial). Besides, Thanksgiving is all about the people. And that’s what made the day special for me.

Today the bustle of the Thanksgiving holiday officially ended for me. My tiny studio apartment said goodbye to its last visitor and the peace and quiet are settling in. Truth be told,  I’m a little lonely without anyone to share the space with me.

I’m a little behind the game with my post, but I wanted to share a recipe for peach apple pie that Matt’s mom shared with me. She recited the recipe by memory and explained that it’s not an exact science. Easy to say if you’ve been making pies for years!

Apple Peach Pie

Ingredients
1 package prepared pie crust
4 apples, cored and sliced
10 ounces canned peaches
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup water
1 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon allspice

Directions
Place a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F.

Using prepared pie crust, line a 9 inch pie pan. Poke holes in the bottom of the crust to ensure it doesn’t puff up while baking. Place crust in oven and bake for 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove from oven and cool.

In a large pot on the stove, combine apples, peaches, sugar, water, lemon juice, and spices. Over low heat, simmer all ingredients for about 10 minutes or until the mixture begins to thicken. Remove mixture from the stove and allow to cool to room temperature. After mixture has cooled, pour into the pie pan.

For garnish, core 2-3 apples and slice thinly. Soak slices in lemon juice to prevent from browning. Arrange slices in a pinwheel fashion to create a flower design.

Bake pie for 45 minutes to 1 hour, or until the pie mixture begins to bubble slightly in the oven.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
As Matt’s mom mentioned, making this pie isn’t an exact science. If you find that your pie filling is to runny, try thickening it with some corn starch. Simply mix some corn starch with water and slowly add it to your filling mixture until you have reached the desired consistency.

4 thoughts on “Apple Peach Pie

  1. That looks wonderful! I’m really not much of a pie baker (though it’s one of my favorite desserts), so this might be a stupid question, but what does the cream of tartar do? (And are there any substitutes for that?)

    Like

    • I had the exact same question a couple months ago when I used it for the first time! Such a random ingredient, right? Apparently its used to to help stabilize egg whites when you’re beating them and also to prevent sugar from crystallizing in candies, frosting, etc. My hunch is that she included it in this recipe to make sure the filling was smooth and creamy. Eeek… a substitute, I don’t know! I looked on a couple of websites and they actually mentioned that you could probably do with just leaving it out! Maybe its just one of those “nice to have, but not essential” ingredients.

      Like

      • Thanks for detailed answer! This is one of those things that I probably could have just googled, but it’s much nicer to hear it from someone (who’s heard it from someone… and) who’s used it in baking herself! Anyway, that’s good to know. Maybe I’ll wait and look into it the next time I need to stabilize a bunch of egg yolks… (for a meringue?) and otherwise I’ll do without!

        Like

      • I called my dad (my go-to cooking guru) after I saw it on my ingredient list for the first time. I thought it was totally random because I’m pretty sure you can also use it for some household purposes like cleaning silver. I was totally baffled about why I was cooking with it! Some things definitely make you think twice!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

