Low Fat Bran Muffins

When it comes to working out, I will admit that I lack motivation at times.

I’m a morning person, so when it comes to motivating myself to workout, I am significantly more successful at morning workouts. By the end of the day, I can typically come up with a million different reasons why I don’t need to go to the gym. And yes, going home to watch another episode of Game of Thrones has been a legitimate excuse on more than one occasion.

Morning workouts do require some amount of advance planning as my brain isn’t at it’s sharpest at 6 am. I can think of several adjectives that do not describe my state of mind after my alarm goes off. Among those would be: organized, prepared, and enthusiastic. Adjectives that do describe me on typical morning workout day would include groggy, rushed, and hungry. One thing I don’t have the time or motivation to do is pull together something substantial to eat. Instead, I want something quick that I can grab and go.

At 35 calories a piece, these mini bran muffins are the perfect thing to give you a little morning boost without wasting the typical 400-500 calories that can be found in most muffins. I like to make a big batch and then freeze them individually in plastic wrap. That way all you need to do is pop a few in the microwave for 20 seconds and voila, a no fuss snack to tide you over until breakfast.

Low-Fat Bran Muffins

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups wheat bran
1 cup nonfat milk
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 egg
3 tablespoons Truvia baking blend
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions
Place a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 375 degrees F. Grease mini muffins cups.

Mix together wheat bran and milk, and let stand for 10 minutes. In a large bowl, mix together applesauce, egg, sugar, and vanilla. Beat in bran mixture. Sift together all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Stir into bran mixture until just blended.

Scoop into muffin cups. Bake in preheated oven for 6-10 minutes, or until tops spring back when lightly tapped.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Truvia Baking Blend is a low-calorie alternative to using sugar in your baking recipes. It’s a mixture of Truvia and regular sugar made specifically for baking. It’s not for everyone, some people think it has a strange aftertaste, and others are opposed to artificial sweeteners. Regardless, it’s easy to convert from full sugar recipes, just use half as much Truvia baking blend as you would sugar. Try experimenting with it in some of your favorite recipes!

Leave a Reply

