Pumpkin Muffins

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, hands down.

What’s so special about Thanksgiving, you’re probably asking yourself. In my opinion, it’s one of the few holidays that haven’t been ridiculously over-commercialized. You don’t need to buy presents or invest in overpriced decorations. The main focus of the day is time spent with those that you love. No matter who you are with, it’s a day that’s focused on camaraderie… and eating of course.

When I was younger, we used to make a Thanksgiving turkey picture where we would trace the outline of our hand, and turn it into a turkey and then list all the things we were thankful for in the past year. While I haven’t conjured up a turkey picture for you this year, I wanted to take a moment to think about the things I’m most thankful for this year.

  1. The health and well-being of my friends and family.
  2. Continuing to build and nurture an amazing relationship with my boyfriend Matt.
  3. The stability of working at a wonderful job that I enjoy.
  4. All the joys and the pains over the past year. Challenges only make us stronger.
  5. The ability to move about and dance each day.

In preparation for Thanksgiving Day, I made some pumpkin muffins in advance. I thought that popping these treats into the microwave for breakfast would be a quick and light treat for the morning, still leaving plenty of space for Thanksgiving dinner.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pumpkin Muffins
Adapted from Cooking Light

Ingredients
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup golden raisins
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup canned pumpkin
1/3 cup buttermilk
1/3 cup canola oil
1/4 cup molasses
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons granulated sugar

Directions
Place a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 400 degrees F.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl, stirring well with a whisk. Stir in raisins; make a well in center of mixture. Combine brown sugar, canned pumpkin, buttermilk, canola oil, molasses, vanilla extract, and eggs, stirring well with a whisk. Add sugar mixture to flour mixture; stir just until moist.

Spoon batter into 18 muffin cups coated with cooking spray. Sprinkle with granulated sugar. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove muffins from pans immediately; cool on a wire rack.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
If some muffin cups will remain empty during baking, put 2 to 3 tablespoons water in the unused muffin cups to keep the pan from warping.

8 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Heather,

    The muffins sound delicious. I remember the hand turkeys well! I love your blog and enjoy all of your writing. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your “whole” family.

    Love, Lauren

    Like

    • Hi Lauren! I’m so glad that you have found your way to my blog! It’s been such a wonderful project- I’m really enjoying myself :) I bet you do remember the turkeys- I always remember my mom doing it with her kids at school! I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving as well. I hear that we’ll get so see each other over Christmas so I’m looking forward to it!

      Like

  2. My goodness. After your slide show I was ready to go bake my own muffins, after I had a snack, of course since I was suddenly hungry.. Your photography seems to be affecting me in delicious ways.

    Like

    • Agreed, I do love pumpkin bread! I made a great pumpkin bread recipe last month but there was so much sugar and butter it tasted more like pumpkin cake than pumpkin bread.. I wasn’t complaining though ;)

      Like

Leave a Reply

