Pumpkin Sugar Cookies

I spent 35 minutes in the checkout line at the grocery store today… ugh.

At moments like this, I simply surrender myself to the fate that awaits me, take a deep breath, and find an interesting magazine to read. I joined the back of the line, which stretched all the way to the back of the store, and pondered buying a pork loin for dinner after staring at it for a good 10 minutes.

Yes, let it be known… Washingtonians are preparing themselves for the wrath of hurricane Sandy. And apparently this means stocking up on all the peanut butter, canned beans, and toilet paper that one can find. Looking in people’s carts you might think that we were preparing for Y2K all over again. Yet here I was in line with my eggs, confectioners’ sugar, food coloring, and butter. I was preparing for Hurricane Sandy in my own special way—I was getting supplies for a weekend baking extravaganza.

I’ve wanted to bake some sugar cookies lately after purchasing a pumpkin cookie cutter at Hill’s Kitchen, one of my favorite baking stores in the district. I decided this weekend was the perfect time to put it to use. These cookies are fairly simple to make—they’re the old fashioned rolled sugar cookies. And the frosting comes together in a pinch. Feel free to get creative with the decorations. I actually purchased some white sanding sugar and used food coloring to make it green for the stems. If you’re not feeling adventurous, you can simply buy some green sprinkles at the store.

Cookie Ingredients
1 1/2 cups butter, softened
2 cups white sugar
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

Frosting Ingredients
3 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
2 egg whites, beaten

Directions
In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight). Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely.

In a bowl, sift together confectioners’ sugar and cream of tartar. Using electric mixer, beat in 2 beaten egg whites for about 5 minutes or until mixture is thick enough to hold its shape. Add desired food coloring to frosting and transfer into a piping bag for decoration.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Make sure your rolled dough produces cookies that are uniform in thickness. If some cookies are thicker than others, they will take longer to cook on the baking sheet.

10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Sugar Cookies

  1. Whoa those cookies look fancier than the ones I’d buy off the shelf at Cub or even fancy supermarkets like Kowalski’s or Bylerly’s! (which I frequent once in a blue moon to buy stuff for meetings or workshops) They look delicious! Wish I was there to eat them all with you! :)

    Like

  2. Awww… thank you! They actually took a long time to make, I was surprised! It reminded me why I do usually buy fancy grocery store cookies ;) And YES, I wish you were to eat them with me too!! I think I’ve eaten like 10 in one day… not good :-/

    Like

  3. These look yummy! Thanks for sharing I am for sure coming here to get my recipes for my sweets cravings :) so proud of you! The blog is great and so well written and yummy sounding and looking of course

    Like

  4. Well, I must have signed it ok cause I just got this post.  Now I can hardly wait to read it….by the way I love your use of some beautiful washcloths in your blog pictures.  Will comment again later ON the blog. MOM

    Like

  5. Pingback: It’s October–join our pumpkin party! | Tracy Lee Karner

  6. Hi Heather! Just dropping by from Tracy’s pumpkin party to say how delicious your pumpkin sugar cookies look.
    As a Brit who lived in California for the best part of 20 years and brought up my children there, I adopted many American traditions, making seasonal cookies being one of them. I still have all my recipes and cookie cutters, but my cookies never looked liked yours do here!
    I look forward to reading more of your lovely blog, but I just wanted to drop by and say ‘Hi’ in the meantime :-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

