Pumpkin Butterscotch Muffin Tops

Why does switching your cell phone number feel like such a life changing event?

Seriously though, this is exactly what I was thinking as I stood in the AT&T shop with my boyfriend this afternoon. We’ve been discussing joining our plans for months. After making spreadsheets of our usage, talking on the phone with countless representatives, and pouring over the various plan options, we had finally made our decision. So why was I having a mini breakdown in the store?

I’ll tell you why. After being wedded to the same number for the past 10+ years, it has become a part of me. It’s seen me through college, trips overseas, graduate school, my first job, even a move across the country. It’s a piece of my Minnesota identity wherever I might be in the world. And for a moment, when I thought about giving up this number, it suddenly felt like I was giving up a little piece of myself.

Was I overreacting? Definitely. But that didn’t stop me from having my sentimental moment. Regardless, we agreed to visit the store the store tomorrow to finalize everything and get our new (smart) phones. What all this means is that later this week I’ll have a different number and will get to begin the process of making new memories with this number.

After tackling the cell phone shop Matt and I went on a fall drive to enjoy some of the autumn leaves in Ann Arbor. We came home and baked some delicious pumpkin cookies. They are soft and remind me of a muffin top almost more than a cookie. Packed with butterscotch chips and pumpkin, these are the perfect fall treat.

Pumpkin Butterscotch Muffin Tops
Adapted from Joy the Baker

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup canned pumpkin
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup butterscotch chips

Directions
Place a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 325 degrees F. Butter baking sheets or line them with parchment paper and butter the paper.

Stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg together in a medium bowl and set aside. In a large bowl, beat the eggs and sugar until smooth and lightened in color. Mix in the oil, pumpkin, and vanilla until blended. Add in the flour mixture to incorporate it with the liquids. Fold in the chips.

Using an ice cream scoop with a 1/4-cup capacity, scoop mounds of the dough onto the prepared baking sheets, spacing the cookies at least 2 1/2-inches apart. You can also simply use a 1/4-cup measuring cup if you don’t have a scoop. Use a spatula to smooth and flatten the rounds.

Bake the cookies one sheet at a time until the tops feel firm and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out dry, about 13-16 minutes. Cool them on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then use a wide metal spatula to transfer the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
Be sure to cool your baking sheets between baking batches of cookies. A baking or cookie sheet should be either cool or at room temperature when the cookie dough is place on it. If the sheets are still hot when you add more dough, the cookies can start to melt and spread before they even get in the oven.

9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Butterscotch Muffin Tops

  1. These look great! I get it. A phone number is your connection with the world! It’s how anyone gets a hold of you, and how you get in touch with anyone you aren’t with in the moment. How could you not feel a little emotional about it?

    Like

  2. Hey girl your blog is awesome! I’m going to need that new cell phone # of yours, and I can relate (I just got rid of my old number that I had for like seven years).

    Like

  3. I just baked these! They are AMAZING! My roommate and her boyfriend love them too. Thanks for the recipe! And def send me your new number…. Hope all’s well! Can’t wait to try more Sweet Precision creations!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Spice | Sweet Precision

  5. Muffin tops or cookies these look delicious. I like the touch of the butterscotch. I’ll bet the flavor of pumpkin, nutmeg and cinnamon blend well with it. My favorite part of muffins is the top so this will be a great addition to my recipe collection. Thank you, Heather.

    Like

Leave a Reply

