Sunday Apple Pie

Sundays make me feel lonely sometimes.

There, I said it… don’t judge me though. Sundays have always felt like family days to me. Some people go to church, others run errands. If you’re lucky you can spend the afternoon watching football or eating brunch. Usually my Sundays are spent going to a spinning class with my boyfriend and lounging around watching football as we track our fantasy teams. I’ll be tracking my fantasy team today with only one problem, my boyfriend Matt moved to Michigan about a month ago. Therefore, I will be left to my own devices for the day.

It’s hardly the Greek tragedy that it feels like at the moment. I have plenty of things that need to get done. But today I want to feel comforted… by food. I know, I know, emotional eating solves nothing, but who doesn’t have a comfort food? For me that food is apple pie, and today I’m going to bake it. Afterwards I plan to sit on my couch, watch the Vikings play football, and eat said apple pie (perhaps with ice cream). Feel free to judge me this time, I don’t mind.

I found a great Paula Dean recipe on the Food Network site. It’s only slightly adapted, mainly because I didn’t feel like making my own pie crust today and bought pre-made pie dough from the grocery store. Blasphemy you cry… but today that’s just reality. In fact there are many days when the opportunity cost of a particularly laborious baking task outweighs the benefit. Today football wins out.

Old Fashioned Apple Pie
Adapted from Paula Dean 

Ingredients
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon, plus more for sprinkling
Freshly ground nutmeg, to taste
7 medium apples, peeled and thinly sliced (golden delicious apples work well)
1 lemon, zested and juiced
2 pre-made pie crusts
1 egg, lightly beaten

Directions
Place a rack in the center of the over and preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Mix together the brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a small bowl. In another bowl, sprinkle apples with the juice of 1 lemon and toss. Stir in the sugar mixture to evenly coat the apples.

Take pie crusts out of the refrigerator and let stand and room temperature for 15 minutes. Use 1 round of dough line a 9-inch pie pan. Mound the apple and sugar mixture into the pie pan lined with dough.

Using a knife, cut an even number of strips from the remaining dough. Transfer every other strip to the pie top and weave in the lattice by folding every other strip back onto itself and laying another strip perpendicularly. Fold the strips back across and repeat until completed. I found a great video on YouTube with instructions for lattice pie crusts.

Finally, brush the top of the pie with egg wash and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar. Trim the overhanging dough and crimp edges. Bake pie for 45 minutes. Let rest 20 minutes before slicing.

Heather’s Helpful Hints
My crust turned out a little overdone. For perfectly baked edges, try wrapping the crust in aluminum foil and removing for the last 15 minutes of baking.

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Apple Pie

  1. Pingback: Cheddar Biscuits | Sweet Precision

  2. Home made or not your pie crust looks amazing. It must have taken much patience. The golden brown is just beautiful. If it tastes as good as it looks I wish I were right there with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

