Pumpkin Spice Bread

I like pumpkin… a lot.

My day started off with a pumpkin latte, there is pumpkin soup in my fridge, and this afternoon I baked pumpkin spice bread. I won’t try to fool myself into thinking that these were all healthy decisions. However, I’m sure there is some vitamin that I’ve gotten more than my daily dose of.

Pumpkins remind me of fall which is my favorite season, hands down. Autumn leaves, crisp air, apple picking, cranberries, football season, corn mazes, and shorter days. What don’t I like about fall you might ask? Those Japanese ladybugs… they’re icky.

This morning I walked away from the farmers market with two pumpkins for $3. I did plan to cook with them today, I promise. But then I thought about having to cut them open, take the seeds out, roast them in the oven, scoop out the pumpkin… you get the idea. I used canned pumpkin with no guilt, and so should you.

I wanted to start out with a simple recipe that wasn’t going to cause a kitchen catastrophe for my first recipe post. My apartment smelled fragrant all afternoon after cooking this bread. Enjoy the spicy kick from the mixture of nutmeg, cloves, allspice, and ginger. I ran out of cinnamon, but it would make a nice addition.

Pumpkin Spice Bread
Adapted from Taste of Home

Ingredients
3 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs, lightly beaten
15 ounces canned pumpkin
3½ cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
½ teaspoon ginger
½ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon ground cloves
½ teaspoon ground allspice
½ cup water

Directions
Place a rack in the center of the over and preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, combine sugar, oil, eggs, and pumpkin. Mix well. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, nutmeg, baking powder, cloves and allspice. Add to the pumpkin mixture alternately with water, beating well after each addition.

Pour into two greased 9 x 5 inch loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 60-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Bread

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Spice | Sweet Precision

  2. I can only imagine how wonderful your apartment smelled after baking this wonderful looking loaf and with the $3.00 worth of pumpkins still intact you had a bright visual to enjoy as you consumed this delicious looking fall sweet bread.

    Like

Leave a Reply

